Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    190

    Default java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space

    Hi,

    i am getting java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space for 3957028 records.

    I am trying to modify jvm size in spoon.bat file ( set PENTAHO_DI_JAVA_OPTIONS="-Xmx1024m" "-XX:MaxPermSize=512m" ) from Xmx1024m to Xmx2048 and 512 to 1024.

    after modification of spoon.bat file ,am trying to open spoon.bat file but PDI is not opening. how can i fix this issue.

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    688

    Default

    Is your java version 64 bits? I don't think the 32 bits version can handle the setting 2048

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,690

    Default

    What about your Windows OS... Is it 32bit of 64bit?
    https://developer.jboss.org/thread/70669?_sscc=t

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    190

    Default

    my machine is 64 bit and my java is 32 bit version. and my java version is 1.8.0_45 and kettle version is PDI CE 5.3

    i hope i need to install java 64 bit version then only I can change it t0 2048, is it correct?
    Last edited by ranala; 06-19-2015 at 03:26 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,771

    Default

    Hi.
    I have Java 64 and use around 6GB (6144 to be precise).
    -- Mick --

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    190

    Default

    ]Thanks you very much Sir/Mick, I have installed java 1.8 64 bit version and my job is running fine.

    as per your suggesitions i can increase some more memory as well from 2048m, i will try it.


    apart from spoon.bat file where we can increase the JVM size in PDI files ?

    Thank you[/QUOTE]
    Last edited by ranala; 06-19-2015 at 11:18 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1,771

    Default

    As far as I know that's the only place.
    I don't know if there is a limit imposed by your OS, I'm afraid you need to Google it.
    -- Mick --

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    190

    Default

    Hi,

    i have used text file input/output step before syncronixe after merge step and blocking step...isue has been resolved.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ranala View Post
    ]
    apart from spoon.bat file where we can increase the JVM size in PDI files ?
    [/QUOTE]

    If you run into such errors when you try to run transformations with pan.sh/bat or kitchen.sh/bat from command line you can change it there too. For example pan.sh contains:

    Code:
    # ******************************************************************
    # ** Set java runtime options                                     **
    # ** Change 512m to higher values in case you run out of memory   **
    # ** or set the PENTAHO_DI_JAVA_OPTIONS environment variable      **
    # ** (JAVAMAXMEM is there for compatibility reasons)              **
    # ******************************************************************
    
    
    if [ -z "$JAVAMAXMEM" ]; then
      JAVAMAXMEM="1024"
    fi
    I have changed the value from 512 to 1024 here.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    190

    Default

    If you run into such errors when you try to run transformations with pan.sh/bat or kitchen.sh/bat from command line you can change it there too. For example pan.sh contains:

    Code:
    # ******************************************************************
    # ** Set java runtime options                                     **
    # ** Change 512m to higher values in case you run out of memory   **
    # ** or set the PENTAHO_DI_JAVA_OPTIONS environment variable      **
    # ** (JAVAMAXMEM is there for compatibility reasons)              **
    # ******************************************************************
    
    
    if [ -z "$JAVAMAXMEM" ]; then
      JAVAMAXMEM="1024"
    fi
    May i know which version you are using, seems to be it is older version i am using 5.3 CE PDI we dont have scope to chage jvm variable in pan.bat file or .sh file

    5.3 .pan file

    @echo off
    setlocal
    pushd %~dp0
    SET STARTTITLE="Pan"
    SET SPOON_CONSOLE=1
    call Spoon.bat -main org.pentaho.di.pan.Pan %*
    popd



    I have changed the value from 512 to 1024 here.[/QUOTE]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.