Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Json Input and Variables

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default Json Input and Variables

    Hi all,
    I am trying to use a variable instead of a path in the fields tab of the JSON Input. i am putting $varname in the field. unfortunately, it seems to think its a path instead of a variable. has anyone had any experience with this?

    thanks

    Barry

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    2

    Default

    You have to define and assign a value to the variable somewhere before using it.

    In the transformation properties, go to the parameters tab and create your variable and assign a default value.
    Swathi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default

    thank you for responding. it seems however that if i place the variable in the tab using $varname....it thinks its a path.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    2

    Default

    In the transformation properties->parameter tab, you have to define variable name without $ symbol. In the json input, the variable should be used as ${var}. Try this and see if it works.
    Swathi

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default

    i will give it another shot. i think the $ confuses it though and makes it think its a path. have you tried it before?
    thanks for all your help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    5,534

    Default

    Try to use %%varname%% instead of ${varname}
    So long, and thanks for all the fish.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.