Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Changing mask used for MS SQL input

Default Changing mask used for MS SQL input

Hi,
    I'm relatively fluent with computers, but a complete novice to this software (and barely above novice with SQL in general). I'm trying to do an ETL between a database running on MSSQL and one running on MySQL. I set up a database connection for import using MS SQL and it connects successfully. I have a table input using that connection which works, but there's a problem - the output field mask is set wrong. On the server itself, when I view the field the type is float and the number has the form ##.####### or -##.####### . However, when I view the output fields in Kettle the type is number and the mask is #.#;-#.#. I need the entire floating-point value, not truncated to one decimal place.

I've spent some time googling for answers and looking through the documentation, but I can't seem to find any information on how to change the mask. I realize this is probably a pretty basic question, but I'm stumped.

Two other quick questions:
    Is there a comprehensive source for documentation, like a manual?
    What's the difference between "MS SQL" and "MS SQL (Native)" for the database type?

Thanks!

To change the "mask" (metadata or format) of a field, you can use Select Value step and check the metadata tab.
    -- Mick --

Kettle being a Java application (mostly) relies on JDBC for database access.
    Native refers to the JDBC driver from Microsoft, while an open source driver is already installed with Kettle.
    With some input steps you can specify a Java NumberFormat as part of the field metadata, not so with Table-Input.
    Select-Values will help you out in that case, as Mick already told you.
    So long, and thanks for all the fish.