Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: MongoDB not an option

Default MongoDB not an option

I see that MongoDB is supposed to be a connection option under the "Big Data" section but that is not the case for me. What do I need to do to get this to show so I can connect to our MongoDB database?
    Last edited by amclean; 12-02-2015 at 01:42 PM.

I'm new to Pentaho so any help would be much appreciated. I believe this is the last piece I need to be able to start using Pentaho.

What version of PDI are you using?
    Where are you expecting to see MongoDB?
    How much experience do you have with MongoDB?
    How much experience do you have with PDI?

All of these are relevant questions, and may have restricted the number of answers you have received.

Thanks for the feedback.

1- pdi-ce-6000-353
    2- A coworker of mine has MongoDB show up as an option in the "Big Data" section of the design tab. I have seen it there in tutorials as well. I would also expect it to be an option when you are creating new database connections.
    3- I have no experience with MongoDB but the company I work for uses MongoDB in addition to a MySQL database. My intent is to use Pentaho to understand and relate data from both databases.
    4- I just downloaded Pentaho yesterday at the recommendation of some of my colleagues because it is a great ETL solution.

Quote Originally Posted by amclean View Post
    Thanks for the feedback.

1- pdi-ce-6000-353
    Good. This version has the MongoDB input.
    2- A coworker of mine has MongoDB show up as an option in the "Big Data" section of the design tab. I have seen it there in tutorials as well. I would also expect it to be an option when you are creating new database connections.
    You won't see it in the Create new DB connection. It has its own step, called "MongoDB Input" in the Big Data folder.