Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: MongoDB not an option

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11

    Default MongoDB not an option

    I see that MongoDB is supposed to be a connection option under the "Big Data" section but that is not the case for me. What do I need to do to get this to show so I can connect to our MongoDB database?
    Last edited by amclean; 12-02-2015 at 01:42 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I'm new to Pentaho so any help would be much appreciated. I believe this is the last piece I need to be able to start using Pentaho.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    What version of PDI are you using?
    Where are you expecting to see MongoDB?
    How much experience do you have with MongoDB?
    How much experience do you have with PDI?

    All of these are relevant questions, and may have restricted the number of answers you have received.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Thanks for the feedback.

    1- pdi-ce-6000-353
    2- A coworker of mine has MongoDB show up as an option in the "Big Data" section of the design tab. I have seen it there in tutorials as well. I would also expect it to be an option when you are creating new database connections.
    3- I have no experience with MongoDB but the company I work for uses MongoDB in addition to a MySQL database. My intent is to use Pentaho to understand and relate data from both databases.
    4- I just downloaded Pentaho yesterday at the recommendation of some of my colleagues because it is a great ETL solution.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amclean View Post
    Thanks for the feedback.

    1- pdi-ce-6000-353
    Good. This version has the MongoDB input.
    Quote Originally Posted by amclean View Post
    2- A coworker of mine has MongoDB show up as an option in the "Big Data" section of the design tab. I have seen it there in tutorials as well. I would also expect it to be an option when you are creating new database connections.
    You won't see it in the Create new DB connection. It has its own step, called "MongoDB Input" in the Big Data folder.
    Quote Originally Posted by amclean View Post
    3- I have no experience with MongoDB but the company I work for uses MongoDB in addition to a MySQL database. My intent is to use Pentaho to understand and relate data from both databases.
    4- I just downloaded Pentaho yesterday at the recommendation of some of my colleagues because it is a great ETL solution.
    I STRONGLY recommend that you start with the basics, including reading some of the PDI books and understanding how PDI works before getting into some of the less commonly used steps.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11

    Default

    I don't see the MongoDB Input that you referenced. I definitely want to learn the basics. Do you recommend any specific books or videos?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    Make sure you don't have any filters on the steps list, as it will hide steps that don't meet that filter. I have the MongoDB input in my Big Data folder when I'm designing a Transformation, but not when I'm designing a job. If that's the issue, really take the time to start at the basics.

    As for books / videos...
    I learned from an earlier version of https://www.packtpub.com/big-data-an...second-edition
    You may find https://www.packtpub.com/all/?search=kettle%20pentaho to be useful.

    Also, look at the samples... They really are useful.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gutlez View Post
    Make sure you don't have any filters on the steps list, as it will hide steps that don't meet that filter. I have the MongoDB input in my Big Data folder when I'm designing a Transformation, but not when I'm designing a job. If that's the issue, really take the time to start at the basics.

    As for books / videos...
    I learned from an earlier version of https://www.packtpub.com/big-data-an...second-edition
    You may find https://www.packtpub.com/all/?search=kettle%20pentaho to be useful.

    Also, look at the samples... They really are useful.
    Thank you! I do not have any filters on. I read somewhere today it might be an issue with a "karaf" file but I can't find any details on how to fix it.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by amclean View Post
    I read somewhere today it might be an issue with a "karaf" file but I can't find any details on how to fix it.
    Are you 100% sure you're looking at a Transform, and not a Job?
    They are not the same thing, and have different steps (but some of the same folders)

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Name:  ScreenShot.jpg
Views: 112
Size:  16.6 KB

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    What do you get if you start typing Mongo into the filter box above the step list?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Name:  ScreenShot.jpg
Views: 50
Size:  11.7 KB

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    Can you download PDI 5.4 and see if you can find it in there?
    I haven't upgraded to PDI 6 yet... But I'd be surprised if it disappeared between versions.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Figured this out finally. Had to move the zip folder to the C: and extract from there rather than where I had them.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.