Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Issue with SET Variable component in a job

Default Issue with SET Variable component in a job

Hello All,

I have started exploring PDI just two days ago.

Scenario:
    I have many csv files in a directory. I have to pick each csv file one by one and load them in a new table each time (table name should be created dynamically, table name should be same as file name). However, I am facing issue at the very start of my requirement itself.

I am trying to use a SET VARIABLE component in a job where I created a variable DIR_PATH. I am giving the value as C:\PENTAHO\CDFDataFiles for that variable.

Now I have placed a transformation where I am using GET VARIABLE where I am looking for the variable DIR_PATH using ctrl+space but i don't see the variable that I had created in the listing. How can I get the filenames?

If someone can help me out here?

Regards,
    Sachin

Hey Sachin,

I've kind of been having the same issues as I'm new to Pentaho too. What I've learnt is the 'get variable' is to retrieve the field of the table/result rather than the value of it, firstly.

Secondly, the set variable has to be the last process on your transformation after which you can reference it and find it on the table of your next transformation. When you launch the next transformation, you can see the same in the "variables" column.

Once you can see that it has been passed, you can use the same on a Cntrl + Space anywhere where variables are accepted. Don't use the GET variable, unless you want to import the field name

Quote Originally Posted by not_that_sachin View Post
    I am looking for the variable DIR_PATH using ctrl+space but i don't see the variable that I had created in the listing.
    Spoon only knows about the variables that are in the session you are working in.