Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: How do I use multiple sql commands including DML inside my report's query ?

Question How do I use multiple sql commands including DML inside my report's query ?

Hi everyone,
    I am a report developer. I am only able to read data and create temp table in my user schema and am not able to schedule a job or run a stored procedure. I am wondering if pentaho let me to use multiple queries(including DML queries) in my report.
    My issue is that my current report is running from DW DB and since this DB is so huge , it never returns any data. So I want to create a temp table insert the required data from big tables (ex last 2 weeks) into them and run my queries on those temp tables and then drop them. is it possible in Pentaho reporting?
    Do you have any other suggestions for me ?
    Thanks,
    Sarah

I don't know if that is possible within Reporting, but I think is more proper to use Pentaho Data Integration (previously known as Kettle) or whatever tool you prefer for ETL (Extract, Transform, Load) tasks and use Pentaho Reporting to query the data already loaded in proper tables.
    Also, it doesn't matter the size of your DB, if you can't properly run queries into it, it's not useful, it can happen, but before deciding to build temporary tables with a few data so your reports work you have to analize the source of the problem.