Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: I'm New to Weka, How SMO works?

Question I'm New to Weka, How SMO works?

Hello Everyone.

I'm NettoJM, I'm brazilian and new to data mining and and I don't have a lot of mathemathc and programing knowledg, so I'm having a bat time trying to understund how all it works

I'm doing some tests on a little educational Data and trying to clarify how and how much the attributes do influence on the class attributes (IDEB)

Here is a pic of the data (I already converted to arff files):

Name:  sample.jpg
Views: 833
Size:  18.5 KB

This is just simulated data, we are still collecting real data, and the number of attributes is three or four times bigger, and a lot of instances too, we are planning on using only number attributes, who is the best algorithm we shold try to use?

I got good accuracy with SMO (SVM) in some tests, but I can't understand the SMO output, you guys can help me on that too? I just want to understand how SMO works and his output, I can do a test with some provided dataset by Weka like the weather.numeric.arff, and I got results like that:

Name:  sample 2.jpg
Views: 850
Size:  22.4 KB

Can someone explain to me what this output means in detail? Pardon any grammatical error, I am Brazilian so my english is not perfect.

Thank you.