Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27

Thread: Database connection problemo

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    16

    Default Database connection problemo

    HI all -

    I can connect to my database with the Report designer application - but I cant seem to do it using the web instance - the same database - the only difference is the field "instance" which is not asked for in the web datasource setup -

    Anyone come across this before?

    thanks

    D

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    16

    Default

    have the client and web screen shots - the port number are different in the shots but i did have them the same - still wont work - I think the instance value is the thing thats causing the issues - i have tried it appended on the end of the host (host/instance) but no good

    Name:  client.jpg
Views: 48
Size:  31.6 KBName:  web.jpg
Views: 48
Size:  21.1 KB

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    16

    Default

    are there any other differences between the data connections for client vs web does anyone know?


    thanks

    D

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    142

    Default

    In my instance I use a local connection for report designer but the web platform uses the JNDI connection

    Perhaps change the connection to JNDI. All you have to do is put in the connection name (your tech dept should be able to give you this if you don't have it already)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Deanicus View Post
    In my instance I use a local connection for report designer but the web platform uses the JNDI connection

    Perhaps change the connection to JNDI. All you have to do is put in the connection name (your tech dept should be able to give you this if you don't have it already)
    Thanks for that - I will try it out, what is the connection name? what format has it?

    Thanks

    D

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    142

    Default

    Mine is just called Datamart

    The connection was created by our data engineers so I don't know what else is involved. I literally created a JNDI in PRD and the only option I had was name, in which I typed Datamart

    When I then upload the report to the web platform, it works. However if I accidently upload using my local connection I get a "failed at query" error

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Deanicus View Post
    Mine is just called Datamart

    The connection was created by our data engineers so I don't know what else is involved. I literally created a JNDI in PRD and the only option I had was name, in which I typed Datamart

    When I then upload the report to the web platform, it works. However if I accidently upload using my local connection I get a "failed at query" error
    Thanks - tried setting a JNDI as per the Pentaho documentation - not working for me, connection still failing - unsure why there would be these connection differences between the report generator and the web connection -

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    16

    Default

    I followed these steps, still giving me ConnectionServicelmpl.ERROR_0009 - Connection to database [name] failed

    http://biwithui.blogspot.ie/2014/06/...server-50.html

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    16

    Default

    just wondering has anyone come across anything similar before? i can use the report designer but cannot use the pentaho web based BA system - pretty frustrating at this stage :-(
    Last edited by 00833827; 09-14-2016 at 05:23 AM. Reason: spelling

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    142

    Default

    I have googled that error and the majority of responses seem to be that either there is an error in the connection you are creating or you do not have the JDBC driver installed in the correct path or are using the wrong driver

    The JNDI connection is used so that different tools can connect to a source without having to define the connection individually for each tool. You just type in the name of the JNDI connection and it does the rest

    Just double check the driver you are using for the JNDI connection. Make sure it is compatible with the version of Pentaho you are running and also that it is in the correct directory

    If you get the JNDI up and running all you then need to do in PRD is change your datasource type to a JNDI one with the correct name

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.