Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Problem with files' naming - Pentaho User Console 6.1

  1. #1

    Arrow Problem with files' naming - Pentaho User Console 6.1

    Hi, I have an issue. When I upload a new file from Pentaho Report Designer I put Name and so on....

    But instead of showing the nema, the User Console show me the name of the .prpt file.

    Rename is the only thing I can do or there is some bug or option?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    358

    Default

    The User console should show the Title which is set in PRD through File -> Report Properties ... -> Description. Where do you specify the name?

  3. #3

    Default

    When I upload a file I put all the names ( in this case of the screenshot I didn't but let's suppose I've put some name in the others blank:

    Name:  Cattura1.jpg
Views: 69
Size:  8.7 KB


    When I go to show file I see the name of the file even if I've put some name:

    Name:  Cattura2.jpg
Views: 69
Size:  4.6 KB


    My solution was to rename all the file , but, I would have prefer to maintain the name of the prpt file and use some sort of naming.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    358

    Default

    And have you tried it the way I described?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Hi,

    suitable to this topic. How is it possible to translate other files (non report)?

    The documentation says:
    https://help.pentaho.com/Documentation/6.1/0P0/000/030

    Create a file <filename>_languagecode.extension.locale with the content

    Code:
    file.title=my title
    file.description=my description
    Uploaded both files (as zip)

    But it does not work. It still shows me the filename instead of the translation text.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Hi,

    for me I found the solution.

    example for translation of MyReport.prpt:
    • MyReport.prpt_en.locale

    with contents:
    Code:
    file.title=my super report
    file.description=my super report
    additionally other files:

    • MyReport.prpt.locale = default
    • MyReport.prpt_de.locale = german locale file.


    correspondingly for xactions:

    • MyPivot.xaction
    • MyPivot.xaction.locale
    • MyPivot.xaction_en.locale
    • MyPivot.xaction_de.locale


    Content is like the one for reports.

    The documentation here: https://help.pentaho.com/Documentation/6.1/0P0/000/030 is wrong. And even for 7.0 it's still wrong.

    Regards,
    Markus

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    358

    Default

    Interesting, I never knew this was possible. Say, would you also know how to translate the parameter labels? Whatever is printed on the report can be localized; the report can be renamed to the correct name during deployment process (or use your way); but as far as I know, parameter labels are hardcoded in the report so it's impossible to make a fully localized report. Am I wrong?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Hi,

    it's possible to completely translate a report. In the report you need to add such files:
    • translations.properties
    • translations_en.properties
    • translations_nl.properties


    Then you must exchange all your labels and messages with it's "resource" derivate. So resource-label and resource-message.
    In this you define for example in the resource-label "ReportTitle" as value.
    Then you add in the translation-files:
    Code:
    ReportTitle=my translated report title
    The same for resource-message. The resource-message can even hold parameters which will be inserted at runtime.

    And it's even possible to localize folder names, using:

    • index_de.locale
    • index_en.locale

    and so on.

    Contents:
    Code:
    file.description=my folder
    file.name=my folder
    Last edited by mst; 01-11-2017 at 04:55 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Hi Lukfi,

    sorry, misunderstood your last comment. Due to now I'm at the same point - unable to translate report parameters - I understand what you meant.

    Until now I didn't find a possibility, too. But still searching. Did you find something?

    Regards,
    Markus

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    358

    Default

    No, as far as I can tell these are not localizable. We are going to ship our reports to a customer who wants a different language and most likely we will keep separate versions of the files.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.