Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Loop over Files with mapping?

Default Loop over Files with mapping?

Good Morning,

I am actually pretty new to Pentaho Data Integration and what I “achieved” until now is just a bit trial and error within PDI. I am also new in this Forum so please don’t be upset if I overlooked something or did any spelling mistakes as I am no native speaker. But I hope you guys can still understand and help me.

Right now I am trying to generate a new ETL process. I work with excel files just to let you know.
    I got like 15 different files for everyday and I need those to be compared to a file with date -1.
    E.g. for today I compare the file xxx_10/01/2016 with the file of xxx_09/01/2016

For that I use the Merge Rows step.

My problem is that I don’t want to it to be done with 15 independent jobs that just use a different file as source.

To solve this I tried to get it a bit dynamically so I build a Job that loops over the file names and executes a Job for every Input file.
    But my problem is that I don’t know how to do the mapping. How can I prevent the Job to compares file xxx_10/01/2016 with zzz_09/01/2016 v.v.?

Because in my solution I just hand over the path to the folder with the files for today (all 15) and the path to the files for yesterday (all 15)

Right now its just for those 15 Jobs but as it works fine it will be expended to about 300 Files that’s why I can`t do it with single Jobs. Would be awesome if someone got an idea to solve it

Best wishes

You can add two parameters to the transformation, one to pass the root of file name (xxx or zzz) and another to pass the date, so you can tell the read xls step the filename to read is $proot_$pdate. If xxx and zzz files have the same structure you can create your transformation as usual, but if the files have different structure, you have to learn how to use metadata injection to use the same transformation to read and compare files with different structure.