Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Handling a multiple SQlite Databasefiles

Smile Handling a multiple SQlite Databasefiles

Hello everyone

I'm totally new to Pentaho DI and Data-during my internship I was tasked with creating a system that could centrally store multiple distributed databases. These databases were SQlite files and all had the same structure.
    I went on with the following sollution:
    1st: I downloaded the files via rsync to my local machine
    2nd: I created a csv file containining the position on the file system, datbase name and hostname
    3rd: I created a transformation that read out this file and copied the rows to result
    4th: I created a database connection containing these informations as parameters and for each data load job I used this transformation
    Now I wonder. Is there a better sollution to this? Because my Jobs which will load the transformations are awfully slow. I also face a memory leak issue right now where loading 1million + rows and do 5 consecutive dimension lookups will simply fail with a "Out of Memory Exception". Once I close pentaho-di and restart it the job usually runs fine again. If anyone thinks it would be worth it I would create a demo of my example without the names and data from the original source systems. I believe handling it this way is not a good idea has I have to read more than one thousand database files multiple times (in each data extraction job). I would welcome any input on how to solve such a task in a more fashionable style or if there is even a build-in functionality that can solve such a task.

Lightbulb Attachements

I will ad the attachement here. It does not contain sample databases but you can create them yourself if you like. I would really like to know if there is a better way. One thing I did not mention is that the naming scheme follows the date of the files creation.
    Attached Files Attached Files