Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: BTable Datasource

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default BTable Datasource

    Hi,

    I have installed BTable in pentaho7 , it shows me the similar kind of error saying "A BTable datasource for the selected catalog does not exists!" and if I choose a different schema
    like "steelwheel" it shows the error "Error processing component (BTable)";
    Can you please help me to fix this..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    3

    Thumbs down Same problem here

    Hi, we have exactly the same problem.
    Just the SteelWheels seems to work, what are the steps to create a datasource that is recognized by the BTable?

    Thanks,

    Pablo

    Quote Originally Posted by srikantaj View Post
    Hi,

    I have installed BTable in pentaho7 , it shows me the similar kind of error saying "A BTable datasource for the selected catalog does not exists!" and if I choose a different schema
    like "steelwheel" it shows the error "Error processing component (BTable)";
    Can you please help me to fix this..

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    Maybe try following the Tutorial on the BizTech website (the company that makes BTable) http://www.biztech.it/btable/

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    6

    Default

    1. Create a mondrian schema (I use schema workbench. Click publish there, so your pentaho server get notice about the new schema)
    2. Add datasource to pentaho-solutions\system\BTable\resources\datasources (I always do it using the kettle transformations located in pentaho-solutions\system\BTable\endpoints\kettle, you have to set the parameters inside the job createCdaDatasource.kjb)
    3. Probably restart the server.

    If I have problems with my schema, I test it with some other plugin first (e.g. Saiku Plugin). If everything is fine there, you should start looking into BTable components.
    Last edited by cutcha; 09-06-2017 at 03:36 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Hi,
    first create an Analysis Data Source in your Pentaho server, then Tools -> BTable -> Data Sources -> Import Analysis Data Sources

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks! It worked perfectly, but it would be great to select which ones to add, since there seems to be no way to apply security over who sees each datasource.

    Regards,

    Pablo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Hi Pablo,

    Import Analysis Data Sources creates CDA files in pentaho-solutions/system/BTable/resources/datasources... you could delete from here the files you don't want to use.
    Anyway BTable supports the Mondrian access-control https://mondrian.pentaho.com/documen...Access_control

  8. #8

    Default

    Hi lukolap,
    I think what Pablo means is that a user can only see the schemas that he has access.
    For example if I have 3 schemas.


    Schema1
    Schema2
    Schema3


    A user with an Admin role would be able to see all of them, but if I have another user with a role that only has access to Schema1, on the Catalog section he should see only that schema (Schema1), but what actually happens is that this user sees all the schemas on Catalog, even if he had permissions or not.

    Do you have any idea on how can we solve that?


    Thanks!!
    Last edited by santiago_auditoria; 10-21-2017 at 11:37 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.