Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Using Filter throws error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    459

    Default RE: Using Filter throws error

    Hi,


    may be I didnÂÂ't understand it right... but isnÂÂ't it a simple join of two files?



    In this case you donÂÂ't need to use filters. Instead use the Lookup- or Database Join step or use a join in the SQL table input.



    If you like, post us your transformation for deeper insights.



    Good luck - Jens

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default Using Filter throws error

    (Original message by surenm, put in plain mode for readability)

    I have two files (one contains BRAND ID & EID, the other contains BID + other fields). BRAND ID and BID represent the same thing.

    I am interested in the 2nd file contents with EID from 1st added to the contents.

    To get EID from the 1st file, I joined the two files and then tried using the filter to get the appropriate rows (where BRAND ID = BID).

    I get the following error when I run the transformation.
    Filter rows.0 - ERROR : Unexpected error in 'before evaluate condition' : java.lang.RuntimeException: Unexpected error evaluation condition [ BRAND ID = BID
    ] in part [Atomic : evaluate (function==)] for row:

    [EID=101.0, BRAND ID =B01S, Price=10.0, BID=B01S, Reason=term, Date=2005/05/01 17:00:00.000]
    java.lang.NullPointerException

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default RE: Using Filter throws error

    Jens,

    Can you file a bug for this one? I'm "pressed" for time here ;-)
    I'm also interested in the version number?
    The evaluate() function shouldn't throw NullPointerExceptions right?

    Thanks,
    Matt

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    459

    Default RE: Using Filter throws error

    Hi "surenm",

    could you please send us your version number and the transformation?

    We will investigate this further with bug ID 1514.

    Cheers,
    Jens

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default RE: Using Filter throws error

    I added some code-hardening in Value.compare() and Condition.evaluate().

    Please grab the latest kettle.jar in Development packages and report back the results.

    Thanks!

    Matt

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    11

    Default RE: Using Filter throws error

    I tried the new jar and the error does not appear any more.

    Thanks for your prompt response.

    What were the changes that were made ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default RE: Using Filter throws error

    Extra checks for null-pointers in Value objects in Compare, more specifically for BigNumber values.
    Extra exceptions throws in Condition.evaluate() for missing values (not in your case)

    Check the source code of Value and Condition, revisions 246-249

    Matt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.