Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Spoon gives SWT error on Linux

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default Spoon gives SWT error on Linux

    Hello All,


    I am playing around with Spoon and it works fine on my machine(Ver 2.2.2), but on Linux server it is throwing this SWT error.



    ./spoon.sh
    Exception in thread "main" org.eclipse.swt.SWTError: No more handles http://gtk_init_check() failed[img]/...es/newpage.gif[/url]
    at org.eclipse.swt.SWT.error(SWT.java:2968)
    at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.createDisplay(Display.java:757)
    at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.create(Display.java:746)
    at org.eclipse.swt.graphics.Device.<init>(Device.java:141)
    at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.<init>(Display.java:429)
    at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.<init>(Display.java:420)
    at be.ibridge.kettle.spoon.Spoon.main(Unknown Source)



    The java version is "1.4.2_03".



    What could be the problem?
    I have added "KETTLE/" to classpath.



    What could be the problem, please advise



    Thanks...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default RE: Spoon gives SWT error on Linux

    Hi,

    Is it by any chance a 64 bit AMD processor you&#39;re running on?
    I had a similar problem earlier on such a beast.
    I tried with several SWT libraries from Eclipse.org, but at this point I&#39;m waiting for version 3.2 to be released.

    Thanks,

    Matt

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    9

    Default RE: Spoon gives SWT error on Linux

    Hi Matt,

    Firstly great job on KETTLE, very nice piece of software...

    I feel stupid for posting this error as I realized the most probable cause for the error is the linux box i work on not having XWindows, so therefore the SWT error.

    Anyways, command line stuff flies and I am able to get 2.5 million rows transformed(simple stuff for proof of concept) and loaded in under 8 mins.

    Any tips for performance improvements, I have set commit to every 2000 rows.

    Thanks,
    Carl.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default RE: Spoon gives SWT error on Linux

    Hi Carl,

    Just to be complete I should point out that the runtimes (Pan & Kitchen) don&#39;t need X-Windows or SWT at all.
    This has as a consequence for example that you can embed Kettle into application servers etc, without the need of adding SWT libs to the classpath.

    On the server, you can copy the repositories.xml file into directory $HOME/.kettle/
    That way, you can run transformations and jobs from the repositories on your server that have been written on a workstation.

    Performance tuning is very much automatically, but if you are one very fast beast, you can sometimes get better performance by making the buffer a bit larger. (CTRL-T, Performance tab)
    Also, check the CPU usage, if it&#39;s not running at 100%, obviously, it&#39;s waiting for a database somewhere ;-)
    The table-output step is pretty much optimal with batch inserts, prepared statements, etc.
    However, on the target table, remove any unused index, or in some cases, drop indexes and re-create them after the load.

    Just a few quick pointers, hope they help.

    Thanks for the nice remarks,

    Matt

  5. #5

    Arrow SWT error

    Hi Matt,

    I am experiencing the same SWT error, Kettle version is 3.0.2,

    No more handles [gtk_init_check() failed]
    at org.eclipse.swt.SWT.error(Unknown Source)
    at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.createDisplay(Unknown Source)
    at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.create(Unknown Source)
    at org.eclipse.swt.graphics.Device.<init>(Unknown Source)
    at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.<init>(Unknown Source)
    at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.<init>(Unknown Source)
    at org.pentaho.di.ui.spoon.Spoon.main(Spoon.java:367)

    Linux version is Ubuntu.

    Could you please help me ..

    Thanks
    BiL

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    The poster above needlessly felt stupid:

    I feel stupid for posting this error as I realized the most probable cause for the error is the linux box i work on not having XWindows, so therefore the SWT error.
    In you case, the situation could be different of-course.

    Matt

  7. #7

    Arrow

    To be honest, am still not sure, what the cause is ... what changes will I need to make to make spoon work on Linux...

    are you saying that its because of x windows as the previous poster mentioned... but in your post your mentioned that thats not the problem ... am confused

    Thanks
    BiL

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    Your lack of English knowledge is a problem then.

  9. #9

    Arrow

    sorry ... this might be because am just starting to learn all these... let me read your post again...

    Thanks Matt
    Regards
    BiL

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    maybe lack of english knowledge is also a problem of mine -
    i just had the same exception and google delivered only this useful link
    but the only hint for the solution is "no xwindows on linux"


    wtf is xwindows? opened google and i said no, i dont want xwindows and why it could be the source anyway - im on a linux system Oo?

    doesnt matter, i found the solution for my problem on my own and maybe it works for you too bil

    on console you shouldnt use spoon.sh, there are some other shellscripts to run kettle..
    especially pan.sh

    with <kettle_home>/pan.sh -file=$TRANSACTION_FILE no exception is created anymore and the transaction runs successful

    i guess the cause for the exception is:
    spoon.sh wants to build up some kind of gui and needs therefor weird not available libaries and then creates this exception..

  11. #11

    Unhappy

    Am using Pentaho BI Suite Version: 1.7.0 (GA).

    my linux processor type is i686.

    hardware-platform is i386

    and
    operating-system is GNU/Linux.


    Do i need to have eclipse installed to run Kettle???

    Can anyone please help me with SWT error m getting when starting kettle.

    Sorry for the inconvenience caused.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,882

    Default

    ... what error message do you get?

    No you don't need Eclipse to be installed... and the SWT libraries come with the distribution file so they should work on most 32 bit Linux versions.

    If you run a 64 bit version of Linux depending on the distro you made need to do some small changes. You're in this last case probably.

    If the error would be something as "no more handles", you may need to edit the spoon.sh and change the MOZILLA_FIVE_HOME directory to the one of your distro.

    Regards,
    Sven
    Last edited by sboden; 11-24-2008 at 03:35 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.