Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Spoon: Isn't the filter a stopper?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    17

    Default Spoon: Isn't the filter a stopper?

    Attachment: example1.rar i use the filter to check if a row exist, and if so continue to other steps. if the row i'm looking for does not exists i sent the results to "DUMMY".


    even if no row answer my filter the process moves to the next step.
    why?



    i'm looking to do IF... then ... Else.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default RE: Spoon: Isn't the filter a stopper?

    For an if-then-else, you need to specify both the target steps for the then (true) and the else (false).

    Hope this helps,
    Matt

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    17

    Default RE: Spoon: Isn't the filter a stopper?

    sorry, but it's not.
    even if no row answer the filter (return true) the "true" target step is activated.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default RE: Spoon: Isn't the filter a stopper?

    Well, pardon me, but if the evaluation returns to "true", the "true" target step SHOULD be activated.

    Can you give me anything to work with here?
    It might be a problem or it might not be, I can't tell.

    Thanks,
    Matt

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    17

    Default RE: Spoon: Isn't the filter a stopper?

    Attachment: example1.rar I read 2 rows from file.
    filter the rows, bothe gives "false" and continue to false next step.
    the true next step should not be activated but it is. read from file and write.

    i attached the ktr and texts files.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default RE: Spoon: Isn't the filter a stopper?

    Hi,

    Thanks for the files, that helped a lot.
    The problem is not the filter output, not even this:

    [4 - Error] Text file input 2
    This step is not expecting nor reading any input
    (even though that doesn't make sense does it)

    The problem is the trailing extra cariage return at the back of the text file.
    This is causing an empty line.
    In a Kettle transformation it's not allowed to have rows with varying number of rows in it (going to the same step).

    BTW, normally Text File Input should not send out empty rows. There is a fix for this in the development version.
    For now, set a footer or 1 row to clear out the extra CR.

    Matt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.