Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Database table creation

Default Database table creation

Hello all,

I'm new to the application and, as a test, I'm trying to create a new transformation that simply imports data from a text file into a table in a database.

Two questions:

1) Do I need to create the table before the 'table output' transformation or will the table be created 'automagically'? It appears that I need to create the table manually before hand.

2) If I need to create the table before hand, I am assuming that I need to create this in a 'execute sql' step. Is this correct? If so, how do I handle the sql error if the table already exists. For a simple test, I know that I could create the table manually and not worry about table creation in the transformation process. However, for a process that would need to create a table with a more dynamic name, how would this be accomplished?

Thanks,
    James

Default RE: Database table creation

Hi James,

Nothing auto-magically about it I'm afraid.
    Simply press the SQL button in the Table Output step or click on the SQL icon in spoon to see which statements need to be executed for the transformation to work properly.

The dynamic creation of tables like CREATE TABLE A1 .. ; CREATE TABLE A2 ... etc is possible thanks to the SQL step in a transformation. Kettle simply replaces the question marks (?) in the statement with the supplied fields as parameters.
    These fields can come from any possible data source.

HTH,
    Matt

Matt,

Thanks for the quick response.

I've been doing some more investigation since I posted the message.

For the project that I am working on, Kettle is just one piece of the puzzle and I will be calling the transformations (the transformations will be fairly static) via java calls when specific events and signals occur within the third-party app from which I need to retrieve data.