Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Repository on DB2 UDB 8.2

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,403

    Default Repository on DB2 UDB 8.2

    Attachment: Errors.txt I create a new db connection using the wizard via the "new" respository screen. I test the connection and it says it is good! I can even view the tables etc. Then when I click ok and it returns me to "connect to repository" I can see my new connection in the drop down so I select it and here is where I can't get past. If I follow along in the doc it's say log on as admin/admin and a note about changing it later ... doesn't work throws error on incorrect user name & id . So It I try using the db owner who I used to make the connection as ... I know that user can connect as I tried via another tool, no problems. But when I enter it the "select repository" I get the same incorrect user_id & password error.


    Please Help!



    Great Tool by the way ...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    683

    Default RE: Repository on DB2 UDB 8.2

    you might want to verify that the tables have been created in the reposity.


    Nic
    Try not to have too much fun.
    - - - -
    Nic Guzaldo
    That guy who shows up here
    and there

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,403

    Default RE: Repository on DB2 UDB 8.2

    They havn't. I guess my issue is that I can create the db connection, test that it works, it does ... at least the "TEST" button comes back with "ok". My issue is in the dialog that pops up "Select a repository". Here are the steps I then take:
    1) In Repository drop down I select "CNTSTR"
    2) I type in the username which I assume means the db connection user name ... I am confused here because in the documentaion it say's something about the default unsername is "admin" password also "admin". Anyways both give me the same error regardless if I type in the db connection username & pw or the username admin * pw admin.
    3) I hit "ok" and it pops up with "Error Incorrect username or password!"


    Thanks in advance for your time!



    ~kent

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    683

    Default RE: Repository on DB2 UDB 8.2

    uhmm..


    well maybe I can help walk y ou through it before I head home.



    I'm going to start from the begining so bare with me.
    START BY create a db on the server called something like kettle
    Select a repository "pops up"
    hit the new button
    another window opens with repository information
    hit the new button
    enter somethign for the connection name
    then select the connection type
    just the native jdbc access method.
    for the server name enter the server name
    for the database name enter the database you have created to hold the repository (like kettle)
    change the port number if it's different
    then enter the un and pw for the db connection
    hit test and it should say it was successful
    hit okay
    then you are back at the repository information where you would make sure the connection name shows up in the select database connection give it a name and a discription if you want.
    then hit create (if you have a seccessful connection and the DB is create for it it should do some magic and create some info in the DB)
    hit ok
    then you are back at the select a repository "pop up"
    select the repository that you just created
    enter un admin
    then enter pw as admin



    that should get the repository created for you



    I hope that helps. if you already did this then you might want to go through it agian.



    Nic
    Try not to have too much fun.
    - - - -
    Nic Guzaldo
    That guy who shows up here
    and there

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    683

    Default RE: Repository on DB2 UDB 8.2

    Hope for better for matting


    START BY create a db on the server called something like kettle



    start spoon



    Select a repository window "pops up"



    hit the new button



    another window opens with repository information



    hit the new button



    enter somethign for the connection name



    then select the connection type



    use the native jdbc access method.



    for the server name enter the server name or IP



    for the database name enter the database you have created to hold the repository (like kettle)



    change the port number if it's different



    then enter the un and pw for the db connection



    hit test and it should say it was successful



    hit okay



    then you are back at the repository information



    where you would make sure the connection name shows up in the select database connection



    give it a name and a discription



    if you want. then hit create (if you have a seccessful connection and the DB is create for it it should do some magic and create some info in the DB)



    hit ok then you are back at the select a repository "pop up"



    select the repository that you just created



    enter un admin



    then enter pw as admin
    Try not to have too much fun.
    - - - -
    Nic Guzaldo
    That guy who shows up here
    and there

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,403

    Default RE: Repository on DB2 UDB 8.2

    Still getting errors on what looks like a VARCHAR issue ...
    com.ibm.db2.jcc.b.SqlException: DB2 SQL error: SQLCODE: -604, SQLSTATE: 42611, SQLERRMC: VARCHAR(2000000)


    However yes I see now that before I was missing the "Create or Upgrade" button and just hitting the "OK" button. So many , many thanks for pointing out my dumb error.



    I also tried 2 different DB2 UDB 8.2 db's with diferent users to try and get past the error. So now I think it might be an issue with the DDL it's trying to push to the db. Would anyone have a raw DDL that I could try and run outside of Spoon to help nail down the issue?



    Again ... Thanks for you time in advance.



    ~kent

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,403

    Default RE: Repository on DB2 UDB 8.2

    Ok I took the DDL for the table :


    CREATE TABLE R_NOTE
    (
    ID_NOTE DECIMAL(9)
    , VALUE_STR VARCHAR(2000000)
    , GUI_LOCATION_X DECIMAL(6)
    , GUI_LOCATION_Y DECIMAL(6)
    , GUI_LOCATION_WIDTH DECIMAL(6)
    , GUI_LOCATION_HEIGHT DECIMAL(6)
    )



    The issue is even in my DB2 Admin tool (Control Center) I cannot create a column of VARCHAR(2000000), the largest VARCHAR it will allow is VARCHAR(20000).



    Could this be a typo in the DDL ?



    Thanks in advance I apreciate the help ... I'll await an answer or hopefuly a solution.



    ~kent

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,403

    Default RE: Repository on DB2 UDB 8.2

    Just an update I was able to make a repository using an Oracle 9i db with no problems.
    Whew!
    However I'll be needing to support the DB2 as well ... hopefuly a solution will come soon.


    Anyways ... onwards!



    ~kent

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,403

    Default RE: Repository on DB2 UDB 8.2

    Attachment: Errors.txt Whoops meant to attach the log of said DB2 Varchar issue

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    459

    Default RE: Repository on DB2 UDB 8.2

    Well the issue is really on DB2 a VARCHAR value can only be up to 32 672 bytes long.

    I filed a bug for this http://www.javaforge.com/proj/tracke...avigation=true

    Many thanks for the analysis so far and weÂ'll solve this soon... ;-)

    Cheers,
    Jens

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.