Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Text File Input

  1. #1

    Default Text File Input

    Hello,


    I'm running some transformations within Spoon that use to work correctly. Now with a recent release of Kettle (2.3.0), I now am being prompted with a Dialog box asking me to "Enter values for the Strings specified below". These strings are system properties that I'm using in the reg-expression as well as path. Regardless of how I respond to the dialog, I end up getting an exception thrown.



    What is the purpose of this dialog box and is there away to make it stop showing up.



    thanks,



    Rich

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default RE: Text File Input

    Imagine that, a developer who doesn't know how to file a bug report or even provide a stack trace.
    Well guess what, you no longer have access to the repository.

    Let me repeat this again: if you use a development release: file a frigging bug report!

    Sjees!

    Matt

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,403

    Default RE: Text File Input

    Matt,

    Take some of that positive energy and check the bug report. I did file one. Sorry for just asking a question.

    Rich

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,403

    Default RE: Text File Input

    By the way, there wasn't a stack trace, seems kettle just eats all exceptions. All I asked was why I dialog box was popping up.

    http://www.javaforge.com/proj/tracke...avigation=true

    All you have to do Matt is just move the mouse and click on the link (use the right mouse button)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default RE: Text File Input

    Well then, file a frigging stack trace :-)
    The problem is Rich, that I can't re-produce your crash.

    Cheers,

    Matt

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default RE: Text File Input

    Hi Rich,

    The thing is, I get an automated message for every bug report that gets filed. So I already tried this situation myself, looked at the code, edited your bug report and asked for the stack trace.

    Can you tell us a bit more about the situation in which it occurs then, maybe a (frigging ;-)) piece of XML?
    Otherwise it's difficult to reproduce. Please attach it to your bug report!

    Thanks a bunch man!

    Matt

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,403

    Default RE: Text File Input

    Matt,

    I've created a very simple transform that reproduces the problem. My question still is "why do I see the dialog box". I've attached it to the bug report that I did open. Again, Kettle is eating the exception. There is no stack trace to post or would have done that. Fix the code/don't fix the code - I didn't write it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default RE: Text File Input

    Hi Rich,

    The answer is simple really. Because we can now set variables dynamically, we need to have a mechanism of testing it in Spoon. The only solution I could think of was to get a list of all variables used in the transformation and just ask the value you want to use. Variables are "Static" for a single transformation execution anyway.

    Thanks to your error.ktr, I now see that we need to filter out those variables that are already defined in System.properties().

    I will fix the code tomorrow. Thanks again for your help.
    I guess I'm just disapointed by the fact that I have to ask these same questions over and over again.

    All the best,

    Matt

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,403

    Default RE: Text File Input

    Matt,

    I realize using the current release comes with possible bugs. I just wasn't sure if this was a bug or not, that was why I posted here as well as openned up a tracker report. From now on, I will just open tracker reports if that is what you want.

    Thanks for fixing the problem,

    Rich

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default RE: Text File Input

    Hi Rich,

    The problem is still that your error.ktr is not giving me any problem.
    Can you update your code-base or get a recent kettle.jar. I worked on this today ;-)

    Thanks,

    Matt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.