Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 36 of 36

Thread: Step 3 does not show any tables

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    3

    Question Step 3 does not show any tables

    I have installed the Pentaho Cube Designer 0.7 and have setup three jndi configurations. The first is a connection to a MySql database and the other two are thin connections to Oracle. Testing all three of the datasources results in "Connection was successful".

    If in step 2 i select the MySql datasource i will see a list of tables in step 3.

    If i select either of the Oracle datasources i can get a list of tablespaces but no list of tables.

    Has anyone experienced this problem and know the steps to correct it?

  2. #2

    Unhappy Step 3 does not show any table in PCI

    Hello,
    I have the same problem, but I'm using PCI. Follow my connection setting:
    Driver: org.hsqldb.jdbcDriver
    Connect string: jdbc:hsqldb:hsql://localhost/sampledata
    use: sa
    password:
    (No password)
    Does have something wrong?? Please somebody help me.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I have this same issue with PostgreSQL, but I don't see antything. Both combos are empty (second combo seems to be filled, but list is closing after gew mils). After running designer from consloe I'v got this information:

    [ QueryBuilder::setConnection ] >> null
    [ QueryBrowser::connectionChanged ] >> fired
    [ QueryBuilder::setConnection ] >> sun.jdbc.odbc.JdbcOdbcConnection@126c6ea
    [ QueryBrowser::connectionChanged ] >> fired
    [ QueryBrowser::connectionChanged ] >> loaded 2 table types
    [ QueryBrowser::connectionChanged ] >> loaded 232 schemas

    So, I think, that this is some GUI issue.

    Thanks for any help.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I'v resolved problem - Cube Designer doesn't work with JRE 1.6.0, after downgrade to 1.5.0_10 all is working
    Piotr

  5. #5

    Thumbs down Still dont work ...

    Now I'm really worried ...
    I'm using JRE 1.5.0_10 in my Windows XP and the cube designer don't work.
    Help me!!!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    19

    Default

    I'm using 1.5.0_02 on sampledata and the combo boxes are disabled. Help!
    Last edited by umbertoeklat; 02-09-2007 at 03:13 AM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I'm having same problem. Did you ever get a resolution?

  8. #8

    Default Who can save us?

    where are the seniors members?
    they disappeared!!!
    and now? Who can help us? Who can save us?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10

    Thumbs up wrong driver version

    Hello,
    i have solved this problem by using correct driver for Oracle9i. Update driver for your database version in /lib/jdbc and then it should work.

    Ather

    ----
    Build a better mousetrap, and the world will beat a path to your door.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Hi,

    I have the same problem with
    INFORMIX DYNAMIC SERVER 9.40

    In the step 3, the 2 combo-boxes, when clicked, shows and hides in milliseconds, and because this, i cannot select any table to start the cube design.
    Seems to be a bug in cube designer, but i dont really think.

    I've downloaded the correct version of Informix JDBC Driver (V.3.0 JC2 or JC3 both dont work).

    I have the jdk 1.6.0 installed.

    Someone knows the solution to fix this issue ?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default wrong jdk version

    Hello digoni,
    Cube Designer is not jdk 1.6 compatible. You have to start it with jdk 1.5.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Ather,

    Can i have the JDK 1.6 and 1.5 installed at the same time ? or i need to uninstall 1.6 version ?

    Thanks.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Hello,
    you can install both jdk together. Change your path to jdk 1.5\bin after installing it.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Ather,

    Installed the JDK 1.5 and modify the JAVA_HOME to 1.5 path, after this, open again Cube Designer, but the same problem happens with the 2 combos.
    Any other suggest ??

    Thanks.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    you must change PATH to jdk1.5/bin and then check it on command line. Command "java -version" should show version 1.5

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Ather,

    I'm on Windows XP Pro, and i've already set the JAVA_HOME to c:/program files/java/jre1.5.0_11/bin, but when i run the "java -version"
    it shows the 1.6.0.

    Thinks i need to uninstall the 1.6 and work only with the 1.5.

    What do you think about this ?

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ather View Post
    you must change PATH to jdk1.5/bin and then check it on command line. Command "java -version" should show version 1.5
    Prepend c:\program files\java\jre1.5.0_11\bin with ; as seperator to your PATH like

    PATH=c:\program files\java\jre1.5.0_11\bin;YOUR_EXISTING_PATH

    JAVA_HOME defines home directory of JDK and not JRE. It is not necessary for running CubeDesigner.

    Ather
    Build a better mousetrap, and the world will beat a path to your door.

  18. #18

    Thumbs down I still have to same problem in step 3

    hello,

    I m using windows 2000 server and sql server 2000. for designning cubei used pentaho cube designer. and jdk1.5. I have installed latestest jdbc driver in lib/jdbc. but still i m facing same problem. i have done everything. but didn't get any resolution. pls anybody help me

    Driver : com.microsoft.sqlserver.jdbc.SQLServerDriver
    Connection : jdbcdbc:vsd123 [ vsd123 is my DSN ]

    the connection is perfect. in the second step, it show : connection was successfull.

    but in the step 3, when i select table from combo box, it doesn't show anything.

  19. #19

    Thumbs down I still have to same problem in step 3

    hello,

    I m using windows 2000 server and sql server 2000. for designning cubei used pentaho cube designer. and jdk1.5. I have installed latestest jdbc driver in lib/jdbc. but still i m facing same problem. i have done everything. but didn't get any resolution. pls anybody help me

    Driver : com.microsoft.sqlserver.jdbc.SQLServerDriver
    Connection : jdbc:dbc:vsd123 [ vsd123 is my DSN ]

    the connection is perfect. in the second step, it show : connection was successfull.

    but in the step 3, when i select table from combo box, it doesn't show anything.

  20. #20

    Default up !!!

    up !!! I need a solution ...

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    26

    Default Problem with the returner message

    Hi all ,
    I have the same problem.
    I have tried with Oracle 10g and MySQL 5 with the both lastest drivers.
    And I have change my jdk 1.6 to jdk 1.5.0.6.
    But it still not working.
    If I click in the test button in "Edit JNDI Connection" apears the following error:

    --> The message returned was Unknown database 'steelwheels'.

    I have done exactly what the Pentaho Cube Designer User Guide sais.

    Whats now ??? Are the steelwheels database wrong??? What I have done wrong?

    Can be the answer inthe mondrian installation?

    Help NEEDED!!!

  22. #22

    Default

    Hello Digoni,

    Have you tested this with JDK 1.4 as well, or only 1.6?

    -Jake

  23. #23

    Default big problem in step 3

    hi all

    i m facing the same problem in step 3.

    i m usig sql server 2005 ,jdk1.5 ,pentaho cube designer 0.7.

    when i create the cube with the sql server database ,the tables are shows but when i select the tables from there,it does not display in cube designer .

    And the preview tab in 3rd step is displaying this exception :--------->

    java.sql.SQLException: [Microsoft][SQL Native Client]Connection is busy with results for another command

    wt we can do ? plzz help me .

    quick reply really appriciated me .

    thanx in advance

    nafees ahmed
    Last edited by nafees_farooqui; 04-04-2007 at 09:23 AM.

  24. #24

    Default

    Hi,

    I have the same problem with SQL Server 05, the table are not displayed in the step 3.

    Driver : com.microsoft.sqlserver.jdbc.SQLServerDriver
    Connect String : jdbcdbc:mydatabase

    => Connection was succesfull

    I have Java 1.5_11

    If you have any idea

  25. #25

    Default pentaho cube designer 0.7.2 will solve ur all problem

    hi all

    plzzz dont worry about the 3rd step of pentaho cube designer . That is the cube designer's mistake . It is not compatible with sql server 2005 .

    Plz try download pentaho cube designer 0.7.2 .pentaho cube designer 0.7.2 will solve ur all problem. I hope so.....

    nafees ahmed

  26. #26

    Default Cube Designer 0.7.2-Oracle 10g

    Hello.
    I've had the problem with step 3 using CubeDesigner 0.7.0 and Oracle 10g. Then i've downloaded the latest version 0.7.2, but it does'n work at step 2 (step 3 has become step 2). It doesn't show any tables. The test connection from step 1 says "Connection was successful" and the data source appears.
    Is there a problem with Oracle 10g compatibility?

    Thanks.

  27. #27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nafees_farooqui View Post
    Plz try download pentaho cube designer 0.7.2 .pentaho cube designer 0.7.2 will solve ur all problem. I hope so.....
    Yes, that solves my pbs, thks

  28. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1

    Question Oracle 10.2.0.3 tables dont show

    HI all!
    I have the same problem with an oracle connection, the tables dont show in step 3. I have the latest oracle driver (ojdbc14) in the lib/jdbc directory, the cube designer version is 0.7.2.0, jdk version is 1.5 and is set in java_home environment variable, plus that, the connection string appears to be ok.
    What could be the problem?!

    Thanks in advance!
    Sérgio

  29. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    485

    Default Problem by npmarrin

    Hi everyone,

    Maybe if I share my jdbc connection and follow through steps 2 and 3, can help.

    Take a look at the enclosed.... hope this helps....

    By the way, make sure you're using jre1.5 (I use jre1.5.0_11\bin) in the Path (Environment Variables) and that you also have a "NLS_LANG" variable set to english (I have NLS_LANG set to AMERICAN_AMERICA.WE8ISO8859P1).

    Regards, DMurray3
    Last edited by DMurray3; 04-07-2008 at 04:00 PM.

  30. #30
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default this works!

    thanks! following all ur steps, including setting my paths onto
    jre1.5.0_11\bin and NLS_LANG. I´m using postgresql by the way

    Quote Originally Posted by DMurray3 View Post
    Hi everyone,

    Maybe if I share my jdbc connection and follow through steps 2 and 3, can help.

    Take a look at the enclosed.... hope this helps....

    By the way, make sure you're using jre1.5 (I use jre1.5.0_11\bin) in the Path (Environment Variables) and that you also have a "NLS_LANG" variable set to english (I have NLS_LANG set to AMERICAN_AMERICA.WE8ISO8859P1).

    Regards, DMurray3

  31. #31
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    2

    Default Sas

    Hi,
    I try to access my SAS Share Serveur and i had to downgrade from jdk 1.6 to jdk 1.5.0_11 to suceed.

    my config:

    <connection-url>jdbc:sharenet://serveurort</connection-url>
    <driver-class>com.sas.net.sharenet.ShareNetDriver</driver-class>

    Have a nice day!

  32. #32
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1

    Smile Solution

    Hi people,
    it seems I had this problem and worked it out.
    At first I downgraded JRE to 1.5 but the problem with no tables still existed.
    Then I changed properties (menu Window -> Preferences -> General -> Workspace ):

    unchecked Refresh Automatically (I guess it is the cause of the problem)

    unchecked Save automatically before build

    and voila: it works now!

    Hope it will help you

  33. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    1

    Question I have the same problem , who can help me ?

    i need hlep

    Quote Originally Posted by c4s4l View Post
    HI all!
    I have the same problem with an oracle connection, the tables dont show in step 3. I have the latest oracle driver (ojdbc14) in the lib/jdbc directory, the cube designer version is 0.7.2.0, jdk version is 1.5 and is set in java_home environment variable, plus that, the connection string appears to be ok.
    What could be the problem?!

    Thanks in advance!
    Sérgio

  34. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    485

    Default

    Hi Michael_Q:

    This was the jndi connection I used when accessing Oracle10g:

    Oracle_des/type=javax.sql.DataSource
    Oracle_des/driver=oracle.jdbc.driver.OracleDriver
    Oracle_des/url=jdbcracle:thin:@172.25.8.51:1521:bcmwhtes
    Oracle_des/user=sbs
    Oracle_des/password=desa_sbs_mis

    The Oracle10g jdbc jar file was in ...\PentahoCubeDesigner_0.7.0_win\lib\jdbc

    I used ojdbc14.jar

    Besides the above, make sure you have NO SPACES in the path names...

    My environment variables:
    JAVA_HOME should point to ....\Java\jdk1.5.0_13\
    Path should have ...\Java\jre1.5.0_13\bin...

    Take a look at http://forums.pentaho.org/showthread.php?t=50378... I helped somebody else out in the past on a similar issue...

    One thing I do remember is that O10g, when installing includes a jre/jdk in your environment variables (I don´t remember where exactly...). After I spent some hours trying to solve that problem, I was able to identify this extra jre/jdk... By now, that thread is in the archives... You may want to look there for my old thread.

    Hope the above helps... Regards, DMurray3

  35. #35
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    1

    Smile

    Hi everybody!

    I'm still having the same problem you coment in this post ...

    My database is SqlServer2005 and i'm using CubeDesigner 0.7.2.0 and jre1.5.

    If i defined a database user as dbowner i can see the tables (ALL tables, include system tables!!) .... but if this user is not defined as owner, the CubeDesigner doesn't show me the tables in step 3

    I tried the same with MySql and it works correctly, without problems ...


    Does anybody solve this problem with SqlServer2005?

    I've got this problem in WorkBench too ...

    Any solution?

    Trank you!

    Regards,
    Sandra.

  36. #36

    Default HI

    Hi all

    I am faicing some strange probklem here.

    In Step 3 of cube designer, it does not show tables names but rather they blink for a moment and go away.

    whats wrong with this?

    Thanks
    Nik.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.