Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Manage projects on remote BI server?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default Manage projects on remote BI server?

    Hi,

    I have the BI server running on a linux machine and have installed the design studio on a local windows machine.

    I was wondering, is it possible to manage a project on a remote BI server?

    Help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks in advance,
    Jason

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    817

    Default

    Can you elaborate on "manage a project?"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    219

    Default If i understand

    If you want to develop solutions that run on your linux box from a remote machine you could always map a shared drive of the linux machine being the pentaho solutions folder using Samba maybe? and then you can manage the Pentaho web interface by setting the pentaho IP address in the $pentahoroot/jboss/server/default/deploy/pentaho.war/WEB-INF/web.xml file

    HTH

    Harris

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks for replying, I greatly appreciate your taking the time.

    hazamonzo has the right idea of what I'm trying to do, but I am restricted from mapping a drive. Is there a way to connect and develop from the design studio or eclipse?

    One of the Account managers at Pentaho said it was possible but could not give me any more information and directed me to the forums.

    Again, thanks in advance for your help.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    219

    Default

    Hi fsbojason,

    How about FTP access. It does require a little more work but if i remembered correctly when i used to use eclipse for my php development you can get a eclipse FTP plugin

    http://www.phpeclipse.de/tiki-index....FTP+and+WebDAV

    It doesnt look like its being maintained anymore though =(

    Aside from that icant think of any other methods.

    Just out of interest, why cant you map the network driver of your server?

    All the best,

    Harris

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Thanks Harris!

    I'll look into your suggestion.

    I can't map because our network admin tells us no.

    =(

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    219

    Default Network Admins

    Yup, Network admins are a bunch of swines alright

    The other alternative is to install some VNC server software on the server machine and all the tools you need to create / edit solutions on the server machine itself.

    You could then VNC into your server with a virtual desktop and it would be as if you were actuall sitting on the server desktop itself. This is of course if you server has a GUI.

    Worth a try =)

    All the best,

    Harris

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.