Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Guide me about SOAP application

Question Guide me about SOAP application

Hi, I’m working in a famous software company. They gave me a project on simple object access protocol (SOAP). This is my first project so; I was little confused with this application moreover where can I cover the specification for SOAP application and SOAP encoding? Need suggestion thanks in advance.
    Last edited by finman255; 09-28-2007 at 02:21 AM.

LOL... never heard of searchtwice ... maybe you're looking at the wrong application ... for SOAP in general have a look at http://www.iona.com/solutions/opensource/prodsol/ . Kettle is an ETL application, it has 1 SOAP component but that's about it.

Regards,
    Sven
    Last edited by sboden; 07-21-2007 at 11:44 AM.

Question want know about ETL application

Thanks for your suggested link....and one more think that I want know, what is mean by ETL application, SOAP compounds?

ETL: Extract/Transform/Load ... mostly associated with Datawarehousing. It can include SOAP, but SOAP is usually not the main part of ETL.

So if you need ETL, this is the place. If you want SOAP in general, this is not the place

Regards,
    Sven

Thumbs up

ETL: Extract/Transform/Load ... mostly associated with Datawarehousing. It can include SOAP, but SOAP is usually not the main part of ETL.
    Hi,Thanks for info about ETL .

Question Does oracle support ETL or not

Hi, I has query that, whether the Oracle support ETL process, if oracle supports ETL on what way it supports?

A little off topic but I'll bite... you have the Oracle database, and you also have an Oracle ETL tool OWB. They're not the same. OWB is Oracle database specific, and you either love it or hate it . From experience if you need to do a lot of processing outside of Oracle (e.g. files, other databases, ...) OWB doesn't seem to be a good choice. If all you want to do is load some data in Oracle it's an ETL alternative to check out.