Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: No tables in Cube Designer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default No tables in Cube Designer

    Hello
    I have installed Cube Designer, and sucessfully define a datasource to my DB (MS SQLServer), but in the next step(2), i can not see any table in the Tables combo box.
    I've tried with 0.7 and 0.7.2 versions.
    Can anybody help me?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Is your SQLserver running during creating a Cube?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,009

    Default

    I saw this under oracle, you have to logon as the schema owner in oracle to actually see any tables. So even if a normal user, non-schema-owner can select from the tables, they can't see them when using the cube designer.

    I'm not sure if sqlserver has the same requirement.

    It seems odd to me, i'm not sure why it does this.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gemelos View Post
    Is your SQLserver running during creating a Cube?
    Yes. it is running while attempting to create the cube.

    And yes, the user i used to create the datasource is owner of the schema...

    In fact, it is not that the Tables combo box is unfolded void, it is not unfolded.
    Last edited by danielTMG; 08-31-2007 at 09:58 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    2

    Cool Java version problem

    I had the exact same problem. The Combo Box for the tables where not usable. I tried some different java versions and it locks like Cube Designer is bugged under Java 6.0.

    I created a shortcut to start CubeDesigner:
    Code:
    C:\Programme\Pentaho\CubeDesigner\CubeDesigner.exe -vm C:\Programme\Java\jre1.5.0_12\bin\java.exe -clean -ws win32
    If your CubeDesigner and your Java VM is not installed in the same directories(what is very likely) you have to change the path.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Thanks TomWolk.
    It worked!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by codek View Post
    I saw this under oracle, you have to logon as the schema owner in oracle to actually see any tables. So even if a normal user, non-schema-owner can select from the tables, they can't see them when using the cube designer.

    I have same problem. I select "dbo" scheme but i don't see any table. I use Sybase db and odbc bridge connector.

    Do you know about some workaround or "secreat" setting in Cube designer?

    Thx

    P.S. I can't get schema-owner rights from admin. I have stnd. permission (read only).

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.