Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Problem starting RC2

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default Problem starting RC2

    Hi,

    I'm trying pentaho_demo_hsqldb-1.6.0-RC2.820 under Windows XP.

    To start the server on a Windows computer, navigate using Windows explorer to the 'pentaho-demo' directory, and double click the 'start-pentaho.bat' file.
    I first tried

    pentaho_demo_hsqldb-1.6.0-RC2.820.tar.gz

    but there is no

    'start-pentaho.bat' file under the 'pentaho-demo' directory, only the .sh version available.

    I then tried the

    pentaho_demo_hsqldb-1.6.0-RC2.820.zip

    but there is not a single file under under the 'pentaho-demo' directory, let alone start-pentaho.*.

    So I tried to double click on

    pentaho-demo\jboss\bin\run.bat

    but this is what I get:

    Code:
    ===============================================================================
      JBoss Bootstrap Environment
      JBOSS_HOME: C:\WINDOWS\pentaho-demo\jboss
      JAVA: java
      JAVA_OPTS:  -Dprogram.name=run.bat -Xms128m -Xmx512m -XX:MaxPermSize=256m -Dsu
    n.rmi.dgc.client.gcInterval=3600000 -Dsun.rmi.dgc.server.gcInterval=3600000
      CLASSPATH: C:\WINDOWS\pentaho-demo\jboss\bin\run.jar
    ===============================================================================
    java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: javax/management/NotificationEmitter (Un
    supported major.minor version 49.0)
            at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass0(Native Method)
            at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
            at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
            at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
            at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(Unknown Source)
            at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
            at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
            at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
            at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
            at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
            at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClassInternal(Unknown Source)
            at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass0(Native Method)
            at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
            at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
            at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
            at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(Unknown Source)
            at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
            at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
            at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
            at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
            at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
            at org.jboss.system.server.ServerLoader.createServer(ServerLoader.java:2
    86)
            at org.jboss.system.server.ServerLoader.load(ServerLoader.java:268)
            at org.jboss.Main.boot(Main.java:194)
            at org.jboss.Main$1.run(Main.java:508)
            at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
    Press any key to continue . . .
    PS, my java:

    Code:
    C:\>java -version
    java version "1.4.1_01"
    Java(TM) 2 Runtime Environment, Standard Edition (build 1.4.1_01-b01)
    Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM (build 1.4.1_01-b01, mixed mode)
    This is my first post. please help.

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    but there is not a single file under under the 'pentaho-demo' directory
    only 'jboss' directory is there.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    817

    Default

    The Pentaho Pre-Configured Install v1.6 requires Java 5.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    if you dont have start_pentaho.bat in the root directory it sounds like your zip is either corrupt, or has failed to extract correctly?

    also like the above poster said - need java 5 as well.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by codek View Post
    if you dont have start_pentaho.bat in the root directory it sounds like your zip is either corrupt, or has failed to extract correctly?

    also like the above poster said - need java 5 as well.

    thanks codek & mlowery for the reply.

    Yes. I found out the extraction was failed mystically.

    As for the java version, which Pentaho Pre-Configured Install can work with java version "1.4.1_01"?

    Sorry if it is obvious, but I'm just so new and still am overwhelmed by the amount of information available, and still disoriented about the web pages...

    thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    afaik no PCI will work with Java 1.4 i'm afraid!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    thanks for the fast respond!

    will the Pentaho Pre-Configured Install v1.6 works with Java Version 6 Update 2?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    err, not sure - i suggest you get an official reply from Pentaho on that one.

    What i do know is that some of the "tools" e.g. the report designer dont work perfectly with 1.6...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    817

    Default

    The only piece of the latest Pre-Configured Install (PCI) that requires Java 5 is JBoss. You could still run the latest BI Server by installing your own JBoss (that runs on Java 1.4) and downloading the Pentaho J2EE deployments package. That being said, the PCI is much easier. So I would recommend upgrading Java if possible. Otherwise, you could download a 1.2.x PCI.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.