Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Java API as a datasource?

Default Java API as a datasource?

Hello!
    I'm pretty new to Pentaho and Kettle, so i hope I can get some tips from you experts

I work on a system called HISP(Health Information Systems Programme).

My task is that I want to create some reports from this system, using Pentaho.
    My problem is that I want to use the Java API from the system as a datasource for data integration.
    In my service-layer I have f.ex a lot of set/get-methods, that I want to use to get data from the database.

Do I have develop a plugin in Kettle to make this work, or is it another, more easier way to do this?

Thankful for all tips!!

Reports are not via Kettle ;-)

If you want to extract data from a proprietary system (non-JDBC) and output them somewhere as feed for reporting you probably need an own developed step. Already 1 note beforehand, your data has to be mostly in tabular format if you want to do any other processing with it in Kettle (think database table rows).

Besides/instead of a making a step there are also exist extension points in the reporting tools to get at your data. Have a look at http://wiki.pentaho.org/display/Repo...DataProcessing e.g.

In Kettle it's probably easier to bypass your system and directly go to the database. Or even bypassing PDI if it's just reporting and you're data is in the right/almost right format.

Regards,
    Sven
    Last edited by sboden; 10-30-2007 at 09:32 AM.

I know that Kettle is not a reporting tool:-)
    But the way i've understood Kettle, is that Kettle can, on behalf of the users spesifications, produce a new database, based on different datasources.

The reason that we want to use the Java API, instead of get data directly through the database is that this is a very big open source project and the database change very often.
    But the API is very constant, so this is the reason..