Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Huge bug in kitchen under 64x XP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    22

    Exclamation Huge bug in kitchen under 64x XP

    Hi
    I've changed my OS from 32bit xp to 64bit. When i start job in spoon everthing works fine, all transformations are done. When I use kitchen to execute this job first trans finish with no errors, second starts loading but it freez before loading steps(debug mode loging). How can I fix it, What's wrong ?

    When I use this repository with 32bit xp kitchen works correctly.
    I've tried Kettle 2.5.0, 2.5.2 3.0.0 RC1
    I use Mysql 5.0 64bit to store repository.


    Thanks for your help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,882

    Default

    Do you have a 64 bit JDK installed?

    Regards,
    Sven

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    22

    Default

    When I use 64bit Jdk or jre Spoon doesn't start, no info no errors.
    I switch beetween JVM using PATH windows variable.
    I use compiled version dowloaded from pentaho web.
    Should I compile source for 64 bit ??

    Kitchen under 64bit Jre, JDK starts but it returns error
    Repository loads correct, but when steps starts

    Error connecting to database: (using class sun.jdbc.odbc.JdbcOdbcDriver)
    [Microsoft][ODBC Driver Manager] Data source name not found and no default driver specified
    This problem is only under 64bit version of jre, jdk
    I use access file as input and mysql as output

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,882

    Default

    Recompiling is not necessary... change spoon.bat:
    - change javaw in one of the last lines to java
    - add a "pause" as last line

    When you start spoon attach the output you get in the cmd box to this thread.

    For your JDB/ODBC problem, can you access the database via other tools on the same server using ODBC? Try jdts, the JDBC/ODBC bridge is notorious for "crashing".

    Regards,
    Sven

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    22

    Default

    I've change javaw->java also I remove start before java
    I get this error

    Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no swt-win32-3333 or swt-win32 in swt.library.path, j
    ava.libary.path or the jar file
    at org.eclipse.swt.internal.Library.loadLibrary(Library.java:219)
    at org.eclipse.swt.internal.Library.loadLibrary(Library.java:151)
    at org.eclipse.swt.internal.C.<clinit>(C.java:21)
    at org.eclipse.swt.widgets.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:126)
    at be.ibridge.kettle.spoon.Spoon.main(Spoon.java:7064)

    First lines of log are in attached file.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,882

    Default

    It would seem you need a 64 bit SWT version, while Kettle only comes with the 32 bit version. Looking at the eclipse site I don't even think the 64 bit version is out: https://bugs.eclipse.org/bugs/show_bug.cgi?id=200081

    So you may be out of luck for the moment.

    Regards,
    Sven

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Thank you for your help.
    I can't use jdts to connect to MS access database.
    There is no 64bit driver which can connect MS access database

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,882

    Default

    I would take that as a hint that 64 bit Windows is not yet completely supported as well as the 32 bit version.

    Regards,
    Sven

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    Please note that SWT 3.4M2 is out and that version has support for Windows XP-64.
    I suggest you download it from the http://www.eclipse.org website and put swt.jar in libswt/win32/

    See this page: http://download.eclipse.org/eclipse/...0919/index.php

    All the way at the back you can download SWT Binary and source for Windows (x86_64).
    You just need swt.jar from the package, there is no need to unzip that swt.jar file either.

    Let us know if it works, 64-bit XP is rather rare for us to encounter.

    Good luck,

    Matt

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    22

    Default

    But still we didn't solve problem why kitchen exit after first transformation in job ?
    (Ofcourse under 32bit version of jre)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.