Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Power and log functions

Default Power and log functions

Hi

I'm trying to create a measure that calculates the total probability of a given set of values. Since there is no product aggregate I first need to calculate the log of each probability and then apply the sum aggregate to these log values, followed by call to a power function.

I'm aware that power and log functions have not been implemented yet (?) so I need a workaround for this.

Since I'm new to mondrian (and OLAP) I need a little help to point me in the right direct.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Regards

shaarm

Hi shaarm!
    So, I'm not an expert in mondrian and olap, but what I think is this:

If I understood you right, you want to use the sum-aggregator and before aggregating a log-function (for each single measure-value in database) and a power-function for the displayed, aggregated result.

The last requirement is the easier, I think.
    I could not find a power-function in mdx (mathematical, MDX is really poor), so a solution is to write your own as a user defined function. It's simple.
    Take a look to this description: http://mondrian.pentaho.org/document...fined_function

Now create a measure in your cube with the sum-aggregator and a calculated measure like this:
    Code:
    <CalculatedMember name ="probability" dimension="Measures">
                <Formula>power([Measures].[your_summed_measure])</Formula>
                <CalculatedMemberProperty name="FORMAT_STRING" value="#,##0.00"/>
    </CalculatedMember>
    In which power is your user defined function and [Measures].[your_summed_measure] is your measure with summed log-values.