Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Add Sequence step with Schema name

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    9

    Default Add Sequence step with Schema name

    Hi,

    I am trying to use the Add Sequence step by using the database to get the next value. However, the sequence is not in the oracle schema that I am logged into kettle with. The schema that I am logged in with does have security to select and alter any sequence.

    I added the schema name to the step, but when I compile Kettle throws an error saying the Sequence can't be found. I can't figure out what I am missing.

    Also I would like to be able to use a variable for the schema name, as I don't want to hard code it. Is this possible?

    Thanks,
    Jon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,882

    Default

    In 3.0 it is.

    Regards,
    Sven

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hi! I'm also trying to add a sequence using the database to get the next value. However, I do not know what to put in the "Schema name" and "Sequence name" fields. I'm using Ingres 2006 as my database and I am using Kettle 3.0GA.

    I'm just a newbie in using Kettle so if its possible that any of you give me detailed instructions it will be very much appreciated.

    Thanks in advance..
    -Ben-

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,882

    Default

    Does Ingres support database sequences? I doubt it.

    Regards,
    Sven

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Im not realy sure, but if that's the case, is there any other way for me to get the next value in a sequence via the database?

    Thanks,
    -Ben-

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.