Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ExcelInput and sheetname extraction from file

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default ExcelInput and sheetname extraction from file [SOLVED]

    Kettle version: 3.0.0 RC2 and GA

    Case: We inout an Excel document with multiple sheets, and want to include the sheetname in the input (or the output from the input ).

    Error: In the Excel Input dialog, under "content" tab, we activate "Sheetname field" and give it a name. We have also tried to create the corresponding field in the "field" tab.
    When we try to "preview rows", no rows are returned.

    The same procedure works in Kettle 2.5.1


    Thomas Marthinsen


    SOLVED
    Apparently we have to define all the columns from the sheet, in the Fields tab.
    Last edited by thomma; 12-02-2007 at 06:05 PM. Reason: solved

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    Mmm, maybe an example would be nice to have ;-)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    216

    Smile

    Hi

    Quote Originally Posted by thomma View Post
    Kettle version: 3.0.0 RC2 and GA

    Case: We inout an Excel document with multiple sheets, and want to include the sheetname in the input (or the output from the input ).

    Error: In the Excel Input dialog, under "content" tab, we activate "Sheetname field" and give it a name. We have also tried to create the corresponding field in the "field" tab.
    When we try to "preview rows", no rows are returned.

    The same procedure works in Kettle 2.5.1(...)
    You may raise a Jira case with sample files. The sheetname field works with my Kettle v3.0.0.RC2, even if I have a weird behaviour in output...

    a+, =)
    -=Clément=-
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    Works fine in 3.0GA.

    Matt

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default

    I got it to work too. Looks like the problem is with our Excel document.

    We're working on a health information system, and our Excel file is from India (I'm stationed in Norway). Attached is one of the sheets from the file, and I've removed some of the data.

    I can't get that file to work!

    Could it be some sort of character encoding problem?


    Thomas
    Attached Files Attached Files

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    Hindi usually is stored in UTF-8 (YMMV).
    However, the Excel sheet is reading just fine. The data is somewhat garbled in the Excel file, so it comes out garbled too ;-)

    Matt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.