Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: How to do daily data synchronization?

Default How to do daily data synchronization?

Hi,
    I am new to ETL world. I plan to use ETL in a new project to do database synchronization. The src database is a commercial CRM application's backend database. And the target database is our owned development database to do development based on the CRM information stored in the CRM database.

In the production, we need to get the data from CRM daily to make our cached data fresh. I am not sure whether Kettle have a best practise to do that kind of daily synchronization.

What I can image are the following two ways?
    1. First time do a fully sync. Then in the successive runs, just use a lookup node to find whether the primary key is there in the target table. If the node cannot find a duplicate, then insert that row.
    2. Or use a flag / date field to identify the sync status. And in the table input node use where clause to select the newly updated one.

The second way is not suitable for our case. Because we cannot control the CRM database. So we left with the first way.

Does Kettle provide a much elegant way to do that?

Best Regards,
    Yang Sun

"golden hammer syndrome" ... there are better ways than Kettle to synchronize databases. If you would be on Oracle use DataGuard e.g. (comes free with the enterprise edition), on DB2 use DPROPR, ...

Regards,
    Sven

Hi, Sven:

Thanks for your reply. Are you saying the tool provided by the database vendor is better to handle that kind of sync and transformation tasks? I am guess the tool may use some internal meta data to get the job done.

And I am a little confused. Could you pls tell me what is the advantages to use Kettle except for its free license?

Regards,
    Yang Sun

Kettle is an ETL tool, not a database synchronization tool. Extract/Transform/Load for datawarehousing, not to keep your local cache of the source system in sync. Transformation yes, sync no