Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: MDX Query doubt - WHERE clause expression returned set with more than one element

Question MDX Query doubt - WHERE clause expression returned set with more than one element

Hello everydoby!

I'm a newbie in MDX and I'm currently struggling here to make a (supposed to be) simple query works.

The query is as follows:

select {[Measures].[Nb Appels],[Measures].[Nb Appels factures],
    [Measures].[Nb Appels non-factures],
    [Measures].[Duree Heure],
    [Measures].[Duree Heure vraiment facturee],
    [Measures].[Duree Heure non-facturee],
    [Measures].[Duree Moyenne]} on columns,
    {{NumCouleurSet}} on rows
    from [Appels]
    where
    [Temps].[{startYear}].[{startMonth}].[{startDay}]:[Temps].[{endYear}].[{endMonth}].[{endDay}]

{NumCouleurSet}, {startYear}, {startMonth} etc are all parameters that will be replaced in runtime by the correct values.

Currently the query returns the following error:
    WHERE clause expression returned set with more than one element

Okay, sets in the where clause can't have more than one element... but then, how can I proceed? I need to show all the above Measures, for each number in the set for the rows axis, and, due to a demand from the Pivot viewer, my result set must have two dimensions - so I cannot simply move my where clause to a third axis.

Does anyone know what should I do?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Hm, I'm not an expert in mdx, but this is what I think:

In the where-clause, every dimension can appear only one time! This is damn ugly and I spend a lot of time for dirty workarounds...
    What you want is to select multiple sub-cubes and to glue them together to a smaller cube. I found a workaround for me, but I still have problems with it.
    I defined a new member where the wanted sub-cubes are aggregated. This member is used in the where-clause.

Code:
    with
    member [h].[selection] as   'Aggregate( {[h].[all].[1],   [h].[all].[3]} )'

select