Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: FixedInputMeta NullPointerException

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default FixedInputMeta NullPointerException

    Hi,

    I'm trying to used the Fixed Input File and am having limited success.

    I've defined my file layout, can preview it, and can run my transformation in debug mode. However, when I just go to run the transformation I continually get the following error message. I've even tried to limit the number of attributes to just a few (with filler) and supply a value for each field in the table, but no such luck. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Oh, I'm running 3.0.0


    Thanks.

    2007/12/14 13:35:52 - Compact AC File.0 - Starting to run...
    2007/12/14 13:35:52 - Compact AC File.0 - ERROR (version 3.0.0, build 500 from 2007/11/14 14:59:11) : Unexpected error :
    2007/12/14 13:35:52 - Compact AC File.0 - ERROR (version 3.0.0, build 500 from 2007/11/14 14:59:11) : java.lang.NullPointerException
    2007/12/14 13:35:52 - Compact AC File.0 - ERROR (version 3.0.0, build 500 from 2007/11/14 14:59:11) : at org.pentaho.di.trans.steps.fixedinput.FixedInputMeta.getFields(FixedInputMeta.java:232)
    2007/12/14 13:35:52 - Compact AC File.0 - ERROR (version 3.0.0, build 500 from 2007/11/14 14:59:11) : at org.pentaho.di.trans.steps.fixedinput.FixedInput.processRow(FixedInput.java:60)
    2007/12/14 13:35:52 - Compact AC File.0 - ERROR (version 3.0.0, build 500 from 2007/11/14 14:59:11) : at org.pentaho.di.trans.steps.fixedinput.FixedInput.run(FixedInput.java:299)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    Try 3.0.1, I remember a bug in that step.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    151

    Default Me too!

    It is still happening in 3.0.2. Also, there is another thread on this issue. I am not even bothering to post errors because they are all the same.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    151

    Default The other thread


  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,882

    Default

    Post your transformation (in a runnable form, only the input step e.g.) and a sample input file that makes it crash for you.

    Regards,
    Sven

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    It's not reproduceable in 3.0.4.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    151

    Default No Bug In 3.0.4

    Thanks, Matt. Gonna try 3.0.4 out before posting anything else. Just for the records, the Text Input step works ok with fixed width input and has worked for me as a workaround. Regards, Fabio.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.