Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Problem Editing Hop in an Existing Job

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    26

    Default Problem Editing Hop in an Existing Job

    Very strange problem:

    V2.5.2: Editing an existing job.
    I am trying to add a transformation into an existing job. I right click the mouse button to delete an existing hop. Works fine. If I try to select one of the existing transformations to add a new hop, Spoon exists. I tried the middle button trick. As soon as I select a destination transformation, Spoon exists. This job has many transformations, 17 in number.

    I was able to edit another existing job with fewer transformations with no trouble.

    Any ideas?

    Frank

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,882

    Default

    I've ssen it happen a few times, but that usually means you've been doing some very tricky stuff... possibly manually changing the XML file.

    Add the xml file in question and what you do to make it crash... maybe some extra code hardening is needed. Short term work around, redo your transformation.

    Regards,
    Sven

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    247

    Default

    Check if there two or more job entries with the same name. Different entries in one job with the same name are not allowed, it may even corrupt the job itself (see PDI-28 for details).

    If there are no entries with the identical name, are you able to export the job to XML?

    Regards,
    Ben

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    26

    Default

    I have been able to export the job to an XML fie with no trouble.

    I'm not doing anything tricky, not messing with the XML file, just editing using the GUI.

    Is this something that has just been seen in version 2.5.2? Would it help? if I upgraded to v 3.0.1?

    Frank

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,882

    Default

    I remember some code hardening... try 3.0.1 ... no guarantees.

    If you can exactly describe which actions you do...

    Regards,
    Sven

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    26

    Default

    With an existing job containing 17 transformation and a Start.

    1. delete an existing hop using right-click of mouse
    2. hop disappears
    3. using middle button of mouse, select one transformation
    4. drag mouse to another unconnected transformation. the blue colored hop extends from the selected transformation
    5. release middle button.
    6. Spoon exits.

    This also happens when I use the right mouse button to add a New Hop.

    Thanks for the prompt reply!

    Frank

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,882

    Default

    We need the original XML file you start from... and very exact descriptions of what you do in which sequence: which order, which hop, which actions

    Regards,
    Sven

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    26

    Default

    I upgraded to v3.0.1 and the problem seems to have disappeared. I can edit the job transformation connections using either the right mouse button or the more convenient middle mouse button.

    Thanks again for your help and prompt response.

    Happy Holidays to all the Pentaho team!

    Frank

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.