Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: how to rename files

Default how to rename files

Hello! I'm fairly new to using kettle and I'm creating a job. After the transformation is done, I want to move the CSV files to another location and then rename it. I have successfully moved the files and my problem is renaming it. I need to rename it with a unique name each time (preferably its filename + date) because there will be new CSV files with the same filenames that will be loaded into the same directory a while later.

How can I do this.. There is no rename step....

I tried using the Zip File step. It turned out ok. I zipped the files and moved it into a new directory. I also used the function that will automatically rename a file if a file with the same name exists. The filename looks like this:

FILENAME_113025_30042005

The 113025 indicates the hour, minutes and seconds, and the second part 042008 indicates the day and year. but why is there no month? The 30 shown before 042008 is the same as the minutes. I have done this a couple of times with the same result. Is there any significance as to why the month isn't shown and was replaced by the minute instead?

Thanks...

For the last question... yes someone made a mistake and used "mm" instead of "MM".
    Raise a defect at http://jira.pentaho.org/browse/JIRA

Regards,
    Sven

Hi,

Thanks Sven, fix is in 3.1 and 2.5.3.
    It should be nice to have a "name unique" in "Copy files" job entry.

Rgds

Samatar

Default rename existing file

How to rename an existing file using transformation?

I just want to change its extension form .txt to .load

I m using kettle 2.5 transformation..Thanx in advance!
    Regards,
    kedar.mehta@tcs.com ,
    Tata consultancies Ltd

Can't be done for the moment from a transformation via a dedicated step.

For the moment you can do a copyFile/deleteFile in a javascript step, in a seperate transformation than the rest of your functionality.

Regards,
    Sven