Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Category without Physical Table?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Category without Physical Table?

    I'm working on a problem where I want to read an XML file that describes a new file format. I want to describe that format in the metadata repository without creating a physical table (yet).

    I'm totally new to Pentaho. I've read the docs and played with the Metadata Editor, and everything seems to say you have to start with a Physical Table. Is that so? Surely somebody has wanted to do this before, no?

    - Rick

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    Hi Rick,

    I guess it is indeed possible to type it all in manually.
    However, it might be more interesting to create a Java program that does it for you.
    For an example of that, take a look at one of our Unit test cases where we do just that:

    http://source.pentaho.org/svnroot/pe...ionsTests.java

    Look at the createModel() method. That creates a simple workable business model out of thin air :-)
    The physical tables and columns are not added in this test, but this could be done easily through code as well.

    All the best,

    Matt

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    7

    Default Category without Physical Table?

    Thanks, Matt -

    It's not that somebody will be typing in something manually, it's that in our application we'll receive type definitions from vendors describing formats (primarily CSV and Fixed-width text files) in which they'll be sending us data. We won't necessarily be storing the data in those files in the same format in which it arrives.

    We'll have a "loader" program to read and store the definitions in the Pentaho metadata repository as they arrive, and use those definitions in a subsequent step to create physical data structures to hold whatever they send us. This is actually the critical point - we can't create the data structures immediately because of other constraints.

    - Rick

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    Rick, that sort of thing should be perfectly possible.
    We don't actually use the physical data layer in Pentaho metadata except for the import of metadata from an RDBMS.

    All the best,

    Matt

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    313

    Default Very interesting

    Matt,

    This is very interesting.

    Could you also give a hint (some code) on how to save the model or export it to XMI?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    I used to have example code, I'll update it to the latest version this week.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    313

    Default Perfect

    I see great uses of it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    Heck, people wrote complete BOBJ and COGN migration tools with it :-)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    313

    Default Time?

    Matt,

    Did you had the time to update the sample code?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    Gunter, one of the use-cases we had in mind was the creation of a wizard that automatically populates a model.
    The auto-model scenario in code is over here: AutoModelerScenario.java

    Note that it uses class AutoModeler.java as well.

    That should give you an initial impression of the code (in-)complexity.

    Matt

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.