Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Anybody using Oracle as metadata store?

Default Anybody using Oracle as metadata store?

I'm trying to do that and failing (I have another post about that). I've tried pretty much everything I can think of, without success.

So now, I'm just trying to verify that somebody has actually done it.

Thanks,
    - Rick

Hey there

I am also still fairly new to Pentaho, but as part of my analysis of the tool, I have set up a repository on both Sequel Server and Oracle.

Whats the problem?

I'm getting a "missing schema authorization clause" when it (I assume) tries to initialize the repository. I posted the details on another thread - Using Oracle as data store: ORA-02420: missing schema authorization clause at
    http://forums.pentaho.org/showthread.php?t=60968.

I'd be interested to see what your repository.properties file looks like for your Oracle setup.

Thanks,
    - Rick

Can I ask why you would want to do this? What benefit does this give?

I'm wondering if it would be useful for us, but i'm not entirely sure what the purpose is!

Thanks!
    Dan

You mean, why do I want to use Oracle as the data store, as opposed to XML files on the file system? We're contemplating using Pentaho as a component of a larger product in which all our other data (and metadata) will reside in an Oracle DB.

Or are you asking why I'm doing it that way? The answer to this one is that I don't know any better and the limited documentation I found didn't give me any better guidance.

- Rick

ah i see, so other parts of your product will read the metadata beyond pentaho and the editor. Sounds pretty cool..

For us we dont have anything else that needs to read the metadata, so i'm happy to stick with the XML files - although all our data is in the oracle.

Default create oracle user syntax