Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: two table comparison and count

Default two table comparison and count

Hi. im a beginner in kettle and i dont know how to parse. i hope you can help me with this.

The situation goes: i have two tables
    1. Table 1: Contains a "name" field which contains First name, middle initial (with period), last name, and age.
    2. Table 2: Contains 4 separate fields for first_name, last_name, middle initial (with no period) and age.

ex:

Table 1
    ID | Name
    1 | Jessica A. Alba, 26

Table 2
    ID | first_name | last_name | middle_initial | age
    1 | Jessica | Alba | A | 26

Now i want to check if rows from table 2 will match the whole name field in table 1, with a successful match bearing 1 count.
    To do this i want the step to compare Name from table 1 and first_name, last_name, middle_initial, and age from table 2

If Table1.Name CONTAINS %first_name%
    AND Table1.Name CONTAINS %last_name%
    AND Table1.Name CONTAINS %middle_initial%
    AND Table1.Name CONTAINS %AGE%

then INSERT Table 2 ID #1 to Table 3 (a new table)

then ill just SELECT COUNT table 3.

The question is how to execute the CONTAINS part...

Id appreciate your help anyone!

tnx
    Dr. Ryan
    Last edited by banz69; 06-15-2008 at 08:56 AM.

Why not just compare on the ID? If it exists, then the rest of the record exists as well.

In case you are doing this just for practice, then I would use something along the lines:
    1. select FIRST_NAME || ' ' || MIDDLE_INITIAL || '. ' || LAST_NAME || ', ' || AGE from TABLE_2
    2. Compare result from step 1 with rows from TABLE_1. Match increments the counter, fail does not. This step can be implemented in many ways - one is to use a DB Lookup on TABLE_1 on the NAME column.