Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: integration of pdf or scanned file

Default integration of pdf or scanned file

Hi,

I'm new to Pentaho, I'm now thinking of a project of warehousing organizational data, one thing confusing me!

As quite amount of our data is in scanned images, what's a more reasonable approach for integrating this source of data? Assuming the data is to certain extent structure and scanned images have been passed through OCR.

Will you have any idea or experience could be shared?

Thanks, Dove

I have not seen an image in a datawarehouse yet. Most of the descriptions on the internet would place the image outside of the database/datawarehouse and possibly only store a pointer to the image.

What do you think you can do with an image in a datawarehouse. situation?

Regards,
    Sven

Actually Sven, I added the Image data type in Pentaho Metadata to make it possible in the future to add images that come from a database. That way you can add product images etc on reports to make them clearer. Image vs Product code etc.
    I have no problem in seeing images, sounds and video as just another attribute of products, people, etc. I'm sure they can even be considered facts in some cases. Most certainly, the reporting aspects become intriguing but from a coolness perspective, I kinda like the idea.

Dove, look in the samples/transformations directory.
    There is a sample there called "General - Load images and store into database table.ktr" Maybe you can work with this.

All the best,

Matt

I know it's possible, I just haven't seen any real use of it .

The closest I've seen are reports on which the user could click to see the original scanned document behind that detail line in the report. And the way that worked is that the report tool would generate a URL based on the detail line and it would call an "off-the-shelf" document retrieval application with it to fetch the scanned document.