Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Parsing XML with multiple equally-named items on one level

Post Parsing XML with multiple equally-named items on one level

Hi there.

I just started playing around with Kettle. I'm trying to parse a XML file that has multiple elements with the same name (but different attributes) on one level. Attached is an example XML file to better understand my problem.
    Let's say I want to get the values of level3-elements that have id "2", one from every level2-element. So I would expect to get the following values: 1.5, 4.5, 7.5

Currently I use the following settings for my XML Input object in Kettle:
    In Content-Tab:
    - Location #1: levelOne
    - Localtion #2: levelTwo (to get the repeating element)

In Fields-Tab:
    - #1: Name = Result | Position = E=level3/2,A=value/1 (The first value of the SECOND level3-element)

This works so far because the structure of the XML file is fixed. But what happens if I get another level3-element for every level2-element BEFORE all existing elements? Then I would get the value of the element that is now first and would then be the second one. Anybody understood the problem? ;-) I can't address a special element identified by its id (an attribute), only identified by its POSITION.

Is there any way to address exactly this element that has id "2" instead of going to the second element and hope that the structure of the file doesn't change?

Something like XPath would be great, but that is - according to forum entries - only available starting with version 3.1. Unfortunately I'm forced to work with 3.0.4. I also looked for a plugin, but the one that might help is just available for version 2.X :-(

Is there any other possibility to get what I want? Thanks in advance!

Greetings,
    --
    André
    Attached Files Attached Files

Nobody got an idea what to do in this case? :-(

DEinspanjer Guest

Since you are limited to 3.0.4, it is a somewhat tough.