Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Oracle Connection - OCI

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default Oracle Connection - OCI

    So far, we use PDI 3.0.2 with an Oracle RAC 10g2. Now we try to upgrade to PDI 3.1 but we don't get a connection to oracle.
    In 3.0.2 we use Connectio Type:Oracle with Access:OCI. As Database Name we use the correspondig TNS entry an set username and password too.
    Where are the fields username/password in 3.1 for Oracle/OCI Connection?
    I try <username>/<password>@<tns-name> as database but it doesn't work! Because it is a RAC i can't use ODBC/JDBC. Any ideas?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,882

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Thank you, but i was only happy for seconds because of the know problem

    E/A Exception: NL Exception was generated

    see http://forums.pentaho.org/showthread.php?t=63117

    Is there no chance to use OCI connection like in the previous versions?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Is there a solution for this NL Exception?
    I found out, that the problem is the entry for the port. You have to leave it blank but after restarting spoon there is a "-1" which throws the "NL Exception".
    Last edited by MSchriever; 09-22-2008 at 04:12 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    We just had another customer of ours try the JDBC option to connect to RAC : http://wiki.pentaho.com/display/EAI/Oracle and it worked fine.
    For OCI to work your Oracle JDBC driver (installed in libext/) needs to match the version of the Oracle client (Net8 or whatever it's called these days).

    Matt

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I act like this

    • * Set to native (JDBC) connection type
    • * Leave hostname and port empty
    • * Set the database name to something like this..
    On the first time, everything works fine (port is empty) but on reloading PDI this port isn't empty. It seems, that "-1" is interpreted wrong. When i removed it again from the field, it worked again.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    459

    Default Pdi-1586

    See my comment on http://jira.pentaho.com/browse/PDI-1719 :
    "I'm pretty sure this is connected to PDI-1586 (because MySQL options are added to the path for other databases in 3.1RC1, aaarrrghhh)"

    HTH,
    Jens

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default

    This happens within a repository connection. I don't kno if it also happens within a normal connection.Same problem in nightly build (build 0823)... (see http://jira.pentaho.com/browse/PDI-1719)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    459

    Default

    FYI: PDI-1719 is fixed and will be available in 3.1.0GA and 3.0.5

    Thanks for pointing this out,
    Jens

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    18

    Default

    In 3.1.0 it now works, but i have to change all oracle connection from OCI to Native (JDBC) and use full tns entry instead of short tnsname. But the db field in the repository is only 255 char long and my complete address description is more then 255 char long!
    Why did you changed the oracle connection dialog, everything works fine within 3.0.2.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.