Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: Community Dashboard Framework (CDF) version 2.1-RC1 released

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,498

    Arrow Community Dashboard Framework (CDF) version 2.1-RC1 released

    Version 2.1-RC1 released. You can check at the usual place: http://wiki.pentaho.com/display/COM/...oard+Framework

    This version is equivalent to 2.0.1 and should be used with Pentaho 2.0-RC1.



    The installation method switched to the new CBF 2.1-RC1. If you have no idea of what I'm talking about, the manual installation instructions are very similar to the previous version.

    This version should be compatible to the previous one. We dropped the dashboard links - they make no sense when using mantle;

    The next version will have more components (simile timeplot, navigation components, chart components), metalayers and much, much more. Also, I intend to add support for multiple dashboard-templates, that would allow the same dashboards to be used from within mantle or as a total alternative to it.

    Please report any issues to google code project at http://code.google.com/p/pentaho-cdf/issues/list


    Thanks to bugg_tb for providing a initial refactored version of Dashboards.jsp

    Pedro
    Pedro Alves
    Meet us on ##pentaho, a FreeNode irc channel

  2. #2
    pstoellberger Guest

    Default

    Thank you very much. Works perfectly with Pentaho 2.0 RC1

    I only needed to edit the web.xml patch and change
    Code:
    <context-param>
            <param-name>base-url</param-name>
            <param-value>@BASE_URL@</param-value>
    </context-param>
    back to
    Code:
    <context-param>
            <param-name>base-url</param-name>
            <param-value>http://localhost:8080/pentaho/</param-value>
        </context-param>
    to make it work.

    I couldn't find any documentation which components can be used in CDF/normal Pentaho Dashboarding (pie chart, bar chart, etc.). Is there any available somewhere?

    Cheers,
    paul

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,498

    Default

    Yeah, that token is there for the CBF users - it's replaced at runtime for the correct config. For manual install you need to put your own.

    I didn't understand the other question.
    Pedro Alves
    Meet us on ##pentaho, a FreeNode irc channel

  4. #4
    pstoellberger Guest

    Default

    Hm I think it has nothing to do with the CDF, just Dashboarding generally.
    I don't know which chart-types/components I can use in Dashboards. I know the ones from the example (Pie Chart, Dial Chart, Bar Chart, ...) but I've seen some others in http://www.pentaho.com/docs/pentaho_dashboards.pdf (page 2).. like the traffic light and another pie chart. Do I have to develop such dashboard components myself? And I have heard rumors about a dashboard designer being released soon?? (I know there exists a forum for that, but its not about a real product.. more about the idea of a dashboard designer if I got that right)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,498

    Default

    Well, most of the chart engine is jfreechart, and you can see the reference here: http://wiki.pentaho.com/display/Pent...ties+Reference

    You are not limited to this engine; you can build your own components and integrate with it.

    About the dashboard designer, I have no idea...
    Pedro Alves
    Meet us on ##pentaho, a FreeNode irc channel

  6. #6
    pstoellberger Guest

    Default

    I didn't know where to post it, so I chose this topic:

    For some reason the Sample.url dashboard doesn't work in IE (I think neither IE6/IE7). Which means the page stays white. The whole sourcecode is loaded (the one in template.html) but the javascript which loads the components seems to cause an error.

    I modified the files in "/pentaho_sample" to create my own new dashboard but I still can't see it in IE. It works fine in Firefox (3.x). IE says something like "object required" and "object doesn't support this property or method". But I couldn't find any error with Firebug on FF. It says everything is fine.

    I've used: CDF 2.1 RC1, BI 2.0 RC1, Firefox 3.x/IE6/IE7, Win XP SP3

    -paul

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,498

    Default

    There was en error the dashboard sample.

    If you download 2.1 RC1 again, you'll find it works.
    Pedro Alves
    Meet us on ##pentaho, a FreeNode irc channel

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9

    Question Dashboard keeps blank

    When following the link
    http://192.168.1.160:8080/pentaho/Dashboards
    the browser keeps white.

    Error console writes out:
    Fehler: oActuator has no properties
    Quelldatei: http://192.168.1.160:8080/pentaho-st...s/transmenu.js
    Zeile: 502
    --
    Next try was:
    http://192.168.1.160:8080/pentaho/Da...home_dashboard
    resulting in Error:
    Fehler: SolutionEngine.ERROR_0007 - Fehler beim Ausführen der Actionsequenz (org.pentaho.platform.engine.services.solution.SolutionEngine)
    --
    How can I make CDF running?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,498

    Default

    It's not a CDF issue, that's an error in a pentaho file, transmenu.js

    I remember needing to edit that file and add a test to see if that object was null. IIRC, that only happened in IE, not FF.

    HTH
    Pedro Alves
    Meet us on ##pentaho, a FreeNode irc channel

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    168

    Default

    Hi,

    what does the solution-path in the web.xml has to be?
    Is it the solutions folder itself, like "D:\Pentaho\biserver-ce\pentaho-solutions\" ? I couldn't find any hints about it.

    I installed the CDF manually but whenever I try to go to "http://localhost:8080/pentaho/dashboards" i get the error "The requested resource (/pentaho/dashboards) is not available."

    Benjamin
    Last edited by dibe0015; 11-20-2008 at 09:20 AM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,498

    Default

    http://localhost:8080/pentaho/Dashboards <- capital D

    and yes, it's your solution path
    Pedro Alves
    Meet us on ##pentaho, a FreeNode irc channel

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    168

    Default

    Hi,

    thanks for your quick reply.

    I tried both dashboards and Dashboards both wouldn't work. Does it matter if I have a slash at the end of the solution-path and the direction of the slashes ( \ / )?
    Does this message in Tomcat mean anything:
    Code:
    2008/11/20 15:04:36:586 CET [INFO] SolutionRepositoryBase - Solution Repository
    name not defined in Pentaho.xml node solution-repository/db-repository-name
    Benjamin

    PS: My base-url is: http://localhost:8080/pentaho/
    Last edited by dibe0015; 11-20-2008 at 10:21 AM.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9

    Default

    well, I fixed this transmenu.js bug. But the results remain the same: blank browser.
    (Checked both FF & IE)

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,498

    Default

    Check if there is any info in the logs, can't help with such little description
    Pedro Alves
    Meet us on ##pentaho, a FreeNode irc channel

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    168

    Default

    Hi I would love to give you more information, but I can't find any. I use the standard installation for Version 2 RC 1. I probably have to give up on it.
    I can't spend more than a day on getting these dashboards to run, i probably have to try the traditional way to create dashboards.

    Benjamin

  16. #16

    Default

    I use 2.0 RC1 and it runs fine btw
    This is a signature.... everyone gets it.

    Join the Unofficial Pentaho IRC channel on freenode.
    Server: chat.freenode.net Channel: ##pentaho

    Please try and make an effort and search the wiki and forums before posting!
    Checkout the Saiku, the future of Open Source Interactive OLAP(http://analytical-labs.com)

    http://mattlittle.files.wordpress.co...-bananaman.jpg

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,498

    Default

    I still think you missed some steps.

    After copying stuff to the right place (including the template-dashboards.html files) you need to edit web.xml to add the new information. After that, when accessing /pentaho/Dashboards you should see something: either a browser error or a log error
    Pedro Alves
    Meet us on ##pentaho, a FreeNode irc channel

  18. #18

    Default

    oh btw, when I go to http://localhost:8080/pentaho/Dashboards I just get a big grey bar across the screen, although to be honest I don't know what I was expecting
    This is a signature.... everyone gets it.

    Join the Unofficial Pentaho IRC channel on freenode.
    Server: chat.freenode.net Channel: ##pentaho

    Please try and make an effort and search the wiki and forums before posting!
    Checkout the Saiku, the future of Open Source Interactive OLAP(http://analytical-labs.com)

    http://mattlittle.files.wordpress.co...-bananaman.jpg

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,498

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bugg_tb View Post
    oh btw, when I go to http://localhost:8080/pentaho/Dashboards I just get a big grey bar across the screen, although to be honest I don't know what I was expecting
    Silly me!

    This is pentaho 2 we're talking about, you shuold access the dashboards from the solution folder in mantle like in the original screenshot. Isn't that what youŕ e doing?

    If you want to see a particular dashboard, use http://server/pentaho/Dashboards?das...home_dashboard
    Pedro Alves
    Meet us on ##pentaho, a FreeNode irc channel

  20. #20

    Default

    You still need a .url or something though of course to trigger it.
    This is a signature.... everyone gets it.

    Join the Unofficial Pentaho IRC channel on freenode.
    Server: chat.freenode.net Channel: ##pentaho

    Please try and make an effort and search the wiki and forums before posting!
    Checkout the Saiku, the future of Open Source Interactive OLAP(http://analytical-labs.com)

    http://mattlittle.files.wordpress.co...-bananaman.jpg

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    168

    Default

    Thanks for your patience with me!

    It was my mistake. I thought you meant the solutions-path & base-url I would have to set in web.xml because there are variables in the other web.xml. I was wondering why I have to set these ones. But now I found the 2 settings in lines 4xx and 6xx, and it works.

    Shame on me...

    Benjamin

  22. #22

    Angry

    i am running filter sample.url...getting following error...plz help me to come out of this

    Error: ChartComponent.ERROR_0003 - Can't create the required temporary files (org.pentaho.platform.plugin.action.jfreechart.ChartComponent) Debug: Starting execute of dashboards/sample_dashboard_broadcast/RegionVarianceBarChart.xaction (org.pentaho.platform.engine.services.solution.SolutionEngine)
    Debug: Getting runtime context and data (org.pentaho.platform.engine.services.solution.SolutionEngine)
    Debug: Loading action sequence definition file (org.pentaho.platform.engine.services.solution.SolutionEngine)
    Debug: audit: instanceId=4d2a99af-c035-11dd-bf44-5f81b66e7e31, objectId=org.pentaho.platform.engine.services.runtime.RuntimeContext, messageType=action_sequence_start (org.pentaho.platform.engine.services.runtime.RuntimeContext)
    Error: ChartComponent.ERROR_0003 - Can't create the required temporary files (org.pentaho.platform.plugin.action.jfreechart.ChartComponent)
    Error: RuntimeContext.ERROR_0012 - ActionDefinition for ChartComponent did not execute successfully (org.pentaho.platform.engine.services.runtime.RuntimeContext)
    Error: SolutionEngine.ERROR_0007 - Action sequence execution failed (org.pentaho.platform.engine.services.solution.SolutionEngine)


    Server Version: Pentaho Platform Engine Core 2.0.0-RC1.33017

  23. #23
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,498

    Default

    I've noticed an error in pentaho-2.0-RC1 where, sometimes, the solution/system/tmp dir was not created. A simple mkdir should solve that problem
    Pedro Alves
    Meet us on ##pentaho, a FreeNode irc channel

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.