Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: issue executing a ktr from an xaction

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    834

    Default issue executing a ktr from an xaction

    hi,
    I have this issue:
    When I run a transformation from an xaction, it doesn't recognize the variables set in kettle.properties.
    Is there something that I should do and I'm not doing?
    Or do I have to create an auxiliary transformation which set all those variables before executing my main transformation?

    thank you!
    mc

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    It gets read by the KettleComponent.
    As such, the location where it is looked for is $HOME/.kettle/kettle.properties where $HOME is the home directory of the user running the Pentaho BI-Server (platform).
    If you want to set KETTLE_HOME that is possible, but you need to set it in the startup scripts of the Pentaho BI-Server.

  3. #3

    Default

    If you are using it from XACTION, you need to have your kettle.properties here if you do not already:

    .../pentaho-solutions/system/kettle/kettle.properties

    and double-check the read permissions to make sure the user running your container (jboss, tomcat, etc) has access.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    834

    Default

    Thanks, Darren!
    That's what I need to do.
    mc
    Last edited by Maria Roldan; 11-05-2008 at 11:27 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    834

    Default a new issue

    That worked!

    Now I need to set the logging level to RowLevel, which is not the default level.
    How could I do that from the BI platform?

    thanks!
    mc

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    Just run whatever you need to do in a job entry and set the logging level there.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    This doesnt work for me in Pentaho 1.7.0 GA. So I have to put the kettle.properties in ~/.kettle which isnt great. We have a clean build built from the J2EE deployment jars.

    Have I missed anything? Does it work for others? Is there anywhere else within pentaho-solutions i can put the kettle.properties file?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    10

    Default

    I'm having the same problem. I can run the ktr within spoon and it works, but if I run it through the xaction, I am not finding the kettle.properties, no matter where I put it. I'm using PDI 3.2.0 to create the ktr and pentaho 2.0 to create the xaction. Any ideas?

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by codek View Post
    This doesnt work for me in Pentaho 1.7.0 GA. So I have to put the kettle.properties in ~/.kettle which isnt great. We have a clean build built from the J2EE deployment jars.

    Have I missed anything? Does it work for others? Is there anywhere else within pentaho-solutions i can put the kettle.properties file?
    ~/.kettle is not the same as:

    If you are using it from XACTION, you need to have your kettle.properties here if you do not already:

    .../pentaho-solutions/system/kettle/kettle.properties

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    That location doesnt work for me in 1.7GA either.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.