Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: COMPLETE newbie to the tool

Default COMPLETE newbie to the tool

Hello.

This may seem as a naive question (and probably is), but where exactly do I start after downloading and installing the Pentaho BI Server System? (I installed the complete, downloadable - pentaho-1.7GA-windows-opensource-installer.exe) file. It seems that there is no "Beginners / Just Starting / etc." documentation out there.

Being somewhat technically inclined, having a basic understanding of BI/DW/ETL, etc concepts and knowing Java, I was able to install, start up MySQL and JBoss, figure out the basic higherarchy / tree of the file system, log-in as every one of the default users. (Joe Admin, Sue, Tiffany, etc.) by running the Pentaho BI Platform index file in the jboss directory, etc. I get the whole Dashboards, Analytics, Reports, etc. concept (having used these before as the end user.) I know what ETL is and the concept behind it.

But where do I start with platform? I guess my main questions are:

- where would I "start" with learning the actual system
    - is there relevant "complete beginner" documentation
    - data sources and how they work (I know that the underlying DB is MySQL......oh, and Hyperion......how are they used differently?)
    - is Mondrain OLAP server a separate server or is it a part of what I have installed
    - has nyone seen my keys? I seem to have mis-placed them :-)

Many, many thanks in advance for your help!

good to hear you're up and running, on the downside 2.0 should be released in the next few days and it has a lovely new UI Anyway back to the question in hand...