Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: mdx axis function not supported in mondrian?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default mdx axis function not supported in mondrian?

    Hi, i'm trying to calculate a percentage of a column total. I've found the following MDX syntax which works on MSAS but it does not work on mondrian.

    I do not understand the error message i get when trying the same with mondrian. Should the syntax below work with Mondrian? Could it be that the AXIS function is not supported by Mondrian? Is there an alternative to accomplish the same with Mondrian?


    WITH MEMBER [Measures].[Percent] AS '
    [Measures].[Unit]/ (Axis(1).Item(0).Item(0).Dimension.CurrentMember.Parent,[Measures].[Unit]) ', FORMAT ='percent'
    Last edited by ss4ms0n; 01-03-2009 at 02:13 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    5

    Default percentage of row total

    After some looking around I must conclude that the AXIS() function is probably not supported by mondrian.

    Maybe there is another way to accomplish the same. What I'm trying to accomplish is that I can compute calculated members using the row total (for example to compute a ratio) independently of what row dimension is selected. Because the axis-function is unsupported, does anyone know of another way of doing this in Mondrian

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    1,618

    Default

    Mondrian does not support the AXIS function.

    I suggest that you use a calculated set (the WITH SET operator). That should work unless your axis is declared NON EMPTY.

    Julian

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    177

    Default

    I' Don't undestand...
    I'm looking for a calculated set (or use of calculated set) but nothing.

  5. #5

    Default mdx axis function not supported in mondrian?

    ss4ms0n,

    I'm a new user and am trying to resolve this same issue. Can you share your solution to this problem? I had used the same code as you and received a syntax error message.

    Thanks.

  6. #6

    Default

    Hello Julian,

    I am using recent PSW and BI server 3.5.2.
    Is it still not supports the AXIS Function?

    Regards,
    Vishwesh

    Quote Originally Posted by jhyde View Post
    Mondrian does not support the AXIS function.

    I suggest that you use a calculated set (the WITH SET operator). That should work unless your axis is declared NON EMPTY.

    Julian

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi,

    may I ask you If Is Mondrian still not supports the AXIS Function? If not is there another solution to get a measure based on grand total?


    Thanks in advance

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Is it still not supports the AXIS Function?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Sadly still not supported and I really need it for a project.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.