Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Pentaho Data Integration 3.2.0-stable

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Lightbulb Pentaho Data Integration 3.2.0-stable

    Dear Kettle friends,

    Because there were so many people wondering what GA or even “Generally Available” meant, we renamed the thing to “Stable”. So the stable production ready version of Pentaho data integration 3.2.0 now is called 3.2.0-stable. Go figure.

    In any case, Pentaho Data Integration 3.2.0 is generally available on sourceforge over here.

    We changed a lot of things in the release, from small visual improvements in the hop color schema to larger changes behind the covers with things like named parameters.

    Other pet peeves that changed are for example the Table Output step where we are now (finally!) capable of specifying individual fields to be stored. The Dimension Lookup/Update step got an upgrade as well with support for cache pre-loading, alternative algorithms for date ranges, current row flag and much more. Obviously, we got a whole batch of new steps. Simple steps were added like “Replace values in string” or the ultra-fast User Defined Java Expression.

    For an overview of the changes, have a look at the What’s new in 3.2 page on the wiki.

    Enjoy this release & thank you all for your continued support and help,

    Matt

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    296

    Default

    Awesome!
    I'll be happy to pass that news along at work so we can start planning the update.

    I'm already looking forward to the new ideas you'll be getting on the road for 3.3
    Fabian,
    doing ETL with his hands bound on his back

  3. #3

    Default

    Great! Thank you very much for your continuous work.

    Iuri

  4. #4

    Default

    So the 50 open JIRAs for the 3.2.0 version I guess will be moved to the 3.2.1, right?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    No, to 3.3.0-M1

    Matt

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default named parameters

    Hello,
    I tried named parameters, but it doesnt operate when I use repostitory. In file system everything is ok. I tried SQLite and MySQL for repository, but it is the same.

    screenshot 1
    I set parameters in properties of job then I save it to repository.

    screenshot 2
    I tried to run job and set parameters in starting dialog - parameter P1 = tasta, parameter P2 = testb. but I will get default values in job (P1 = aa, P2 = bb)

    screenshot 3
    then I close job. after reopening it job parameters are lost.


    My system: Win XP SP 3, Kettle 3.2.0 stable, Java 6 SE update 13

    LT
    Attached Images Attached Images    

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    Ouch! You better file a bug report then!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    ok, how and where I can do it?

    LT

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    Go here : http://jira.pentaho.com/browse/PDI
    Create a free account, file a bug report.
    Give as many details on your environment as you can.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    216

    Exclamation Bad bug in 3.2.0?

    Never mind. I found the resolution.
    Last edited by DebbieKat; 05-18-2009 at 08:06 PM. Reason: found resolution

  11. #11

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by DebbieKat View Post
    Never mind. I found the resolution.
    It is good practice to shortly mention the resolution you found.
    Just in case someone else has the same problem...

    Jeroen

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Posts
    9,729

    Default

    DebbieKat, in contrast to certain others on this forum, makes sure she files a bug report whenever she has a problem or a doubt concerning certain functionality in Kettle.

    For example, the answer to your question is written down here: http://jira.pentaho.com/browse/PDI-2400

    I can only wish for more people with such an attitude. That is because if you have a problem you should always search the JIRA cases first for known issues, NOT this forum.

    Matt

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    216

    Red face Thanks! :-)

    Quote Originally Posted by MattCasters View Post
    DebbieKat, in contrast to certain others on this forum, makes sure she files a bug report whenever she has a problem or a doubt concerning certain functionality in Kettle.

    For example, the answer to your question is written down here: http://jira.pentaho.com/browse/PDI-2400

    I can only wish for more people with such an attitude. That is because if you have a problem you should always search the JIRA cases first for known issues, NOT this forum.

    Matt
    I'm blushing. :-)

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Can't create new DB connections from 3.2 stable

    Not sure if this is the correct place to report a bug (please move if it isn't) but I noticed that with 3.2 (3.2.0-GA (2009-05-12 08.45.26)), I can't create new DB connections from the transformation view. If I right click on 'Database Connections' and select New, I get 'Error : Error working with XUL definition (org.pentaho.ui.xul.XulException: java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException)'.

    Works fine with 3.1.2


    --- Update ---

    You can ignore that problem. Not sure what it is about my environment but it doesn't work on my machine however I tried it on another machine and it's fine there ...)
    Last edited by michelb; 06-16-2009 at 11:10 AM.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    168

    Default 3.2.1

    Hi,

    is there any way to download 3.2.1 / 3.2.2 without downloading the source first?

    Thanks,
    Benjamin

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default 3.2.0 Stable edition

    Thanks

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    296

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dibe0015 View Post
    Hi,

    is there any way to download 3.2.1 / 3.2.2 without downloading the source first?
    I don't think so. There is some sourceforge project that does release builds but they haven't done 3.2 AFAIK
    Fabian,
    doing ETL with his hands bound on his back

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    17

    Default perfect.

    perfect...new version is always welcome..

  19. #19

    Default

    Any pointer on how to get the source for 3.2.1 or another version > 3.2.0 that fixes some bugs I need ?

    Thanks !

    Paolo

    EDIT: found out in the wiki, sorry for the noise.
    Last edited by asioli; 03-04-2010 at 10:37 AM.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    18

    Default

    We would be interested in this too. Having 3.2.2 or 3.2.5 since source has patch versions, but official build for these versions is not available.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    4,696

    Default

    As asioli mentioned, the info is in the Wiki at http://wiki.pentaho.com/display/EAI/Source+Code+Access
    **THIS IS A SIGNATURE - IT GETS POSTED ON (ALMOST) EVERY POST**
    I'm no expert.
    Take my comments at your own risk.

    PDI user since PDI 3.1
    PDI on Windows 7 & Linux

    Please keep in mind (and this may not apply to this thread):
    No forum member is going to do your work for you. We will help you sort out how to do a specific part of the work, as best we can, in the timelines that our work will allow us.
    Signature Updated: 2014-06-30

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.