Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Kitchen startup slow and huge memory footprint

Question Kitchen startup slow and huge memory footprint

Hello,

I'm new to the kettle community but have been using it with Spoon for the several months. I'm using the 3.2_stable verion and have some weird behavior when I deploy from the desktop using Spoon to a linux server using kitchen.

My questions about configuring for use with kitchen and pan on a linux server. I've created several jobs/transformations that run very quickly on my local windows environment in Spoon. When I execute them on a linux server with Kitchen they have a very slow startup. It seems that kitchen is loading up all of the jars each time I execute the job. So, startup is about 15 seconds and sucks about 800Mb of memory. I hope to reduce this overall startup and footprint.

I've poured over the doc and have seen references to .kettle directories and kettle.properties files but no examples or complete doc. Is that the right path to configure this?

Also, has the dev team considered making Kettle a service that can be called on without a startup each time? That would be great for the use in a SOA environment where we could just send JMS messages to Kettle and get results back to message bus.

Thanks for any help. Like I said I think this thing is great. Sorry for asking the basic questions but I feel like I missed something obvious to all the other users.

Bill

In the .kettle directories you find information like your variable definitions in kettle.properties, your repository connections, your shared objects and your saved kettle options. So, this is very likely not the place you are looking for.