Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Installation Has Me Pulling Hair

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default Installation Has Me Pulling Hair

    I cannot fo the life of me understand how to install and configure Mondrian successfully. Tomcat is operational, with the latest java, and JDBC(I hope was configured correctly).

    I am running Fedora 8 on an EC2 instance, and I cannot get Mondrian to work. I want to setup an XMLA provider, with a MySQL database. I would be so thankful if someone could help me with this, as I am a complete noob to Mondrian. Thanks so much

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    233

    Smile Mondrian and Tomcat can be a little tricky...

    Hi There,

    I use Tomcat with Mondrian and have seen many deployment issues when setting it up. I cant explain all of them, but I can share with you what I have learned...

    The first thing I have learned that makes Mondrian fail instantly is if the java security manager is turned on without the correct policy setup. To see if this is a problem you can turn the security manager off (temporarily if you like) by editing the /etc/default/tomcat6 and looking for the line that reads some like #TOMCAT6_SECURITY=yes and changinf it to read TOMCAT6_SECURITY=no (dont forget to remove the comment # at the start of that line!)

    While editing the default settings you may also want to change the JAVA_HOME setting to the location of your preferred JDK. I use Suns JDK 6 on Ubuntu 8.10 with Tomcat6 and it seems to work fine so far.....

    You need to also edit your tomcat-users.xml file located in /var/lib/tomcat6/conf to include roles for 'manager' and 'admin', and then make yourself a user in that file that has both of those roles. You will use this to deploy the mondrian.war file.

    You may also need to provide permissions to the directory structure for the tomcat6 user that tomcat uses to get things done. I did this with:
    chown -R tomcat6 /var/lib/tomcat6
    chown -R tomcat6 /etc/tomcat6/Catalina

    restart tomcat: /etc/init.d/tomcat6 restart

    Use your web browser to go to your Tomcat6 : http://<server>:8080

    If you got this far you should see the 'It Works!' tomcat page and you can then go to the admin applet (there is a link in the text of the page near the bottom somewhere) and it will ask you to log in - use the username and password you placed into the tomcat-users.xml file earlier that you gave the admin and manager roles to. This should let you into the admin package.

    Once in the admin package you can upload and deploy a .war file from the various menu options displayed on the page. In theory you can upload the file and it will deploy automatically.

    If the mondrian.war file is uploaded and deployed properly you will see this in the admin package as there will be a status shown for the mondrian application there. You should be able to tell from the status if the package is properly deployed - if you see no session information etc for mondrian then we need to look at your logs to see what the issue is.

    Once mondrian is deployed we can then look at setting up the MySql connections. Perhaps someone has a nice walkthrough for this already?

    Hope this helps, let us know how its going.

    Cheers

    The Frog
    Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler - Albert Einstein

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Ok, I cannot find /etc/default/tomcat. My $CATALINA_HOME is /usr/share/tomcat5.

    When I go to http://<server>:8080 I get this:

    HTTP Status 404 - /

    type Status report
    message /
    description The requested resource (/) is not available.
    Apache Tomcat/5.5.27
    Running Fedora 8
    Installed Tomcat with yum
    Last edited by nullp0inter; 08-28-2009 at 11:14 AM. Reason: system specs

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    http://<server>:8080/pentaho/

    ?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by codek View Post
    http://<server>:8080/pentaho/

    ?
    same thing.

  6. #6

    Default

    well I doubt it would be /pentaho the / would be whatever the war extracted as, but you have other problems i suspect, check catalina.out
    This is a signature.... everyone gets it.

    Join the Unofficial Pentaho IRC channel on freenode.
    Server: chat.freenode.net Channel: ##pentaho

    Please try and make an effort and search the wiki and forums before posting!
    Checkout the Saiku, the future of Open Source Interactive OLAP(http://analytical-labs.com)

    http://mattlittle.files.wordpress.co...-bananaman.jpg

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Aug 28, 2009 11:07:58 AM org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11AprProtocol init
    INFO: Initializing Coyote HTTP/1.1 on http-8080
    Aug 28, 2009 11:07:58 AM org.apache.coyote.ajp.AjpAprProtocol init
    INFO: Initializing Coyote AJP/1.3 on ajp-8009
    Aug 28, 2009 11:07:58 AM org.apache.catalina.startup.Catalina load
    INFO: Initialization processed in 768 ms
    Aug 28, 2009 11:07:58 AM org.apache.catalina.core.StandardService start
    INFO: Starting service Catalina
    Aug 28, 2009 11:07:58 AM org.apache.catalina.core.StandardEngine start
    INFO: Starting Servlet Engine: Apache Tomcat/5.5.27
    Aug 28, 2009 11:07:58 AM org.apache.catalina.core.StandardHost start
    INFO: XML validation disabled
    Aug 28, 2009 11:07:59 AM org.apache.coyote.http11.Http11AprProtocol start
    INFO: Starting Coyote HTTP/1.1 on http-8080
    Aug 28, 2009 11:07:59 AM org.apache.coyote.ajp.AjpAprProtocol start
    INFO: Starting Coyote AJP/1.3 on ajp-8009
    Aug 28, 2009 11:07:59 AM org.apache.catalina.storeconfig.StoreLoader load
    INFO: Find registry server-registry.xml at classpath resource
    Aug 28, 2009 11:07:59 AM org.apache.catalina.startup.Catalina start
    INFO: Server startup in 1069 ms
    Tomcat starts up successfully. I do not have a welcome page however. If I direct my browser to the mondrian folder, I see mondrian loaded up, however I do not know how to set it up with my MySQL database.

    Perhaps I could download the Tomcat files that include the administration settings?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheFrog View Post




    If the mondrian.war file is uploaded and deployed properly you will see this in the admin package as there will be a status shown for the mondrian application there. You should be able to tell from the status if the package is properly deployed - if you see no session information etc for mondrian then we need to look at your logs to see what the issue is.

    Once mondrian is deployed we can then look at setting up the MySql connections. Perhaps someone has a nice walkthrough for this already?
    Ok! I am this far in FINALLY. Now what would be the next steps?

  9. #9

    Default

    Crack open the beer?
    This is a signature.... everyone gets it.

    Join the Unofficial Pentaho IRC channel on freenode.
    Server: chat.freenode.net Channel: ##pentaho

    Please try and make an effort and search the wiki and forums before posting!
    Checkout the Saiku, the future of Open Source Interactive OLAP(http://analytical-labs.com)

    http://mattlittle.files.wordpress.co...-bananaman.jpg

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bugg_tb View Post
    Crack open the beer?
    hardly yet. still need to make mondrian work with my database and i have no idea where to start. i tried following the docs, but i cant seem to follow.

  11. #11

    Default

    this is why no one should deploy standalone mondrian
    This is a signature.... everyone gets it.

    Join the Unofficial Pentaho IRC channel on freenode.
    Server: chat.freenode.net Channel: ##pentaho

    Please try and make an effort and search the wiki and forums before posting!
    Checkout the Saiku, the future of Open Source Interactive OLAP(http://analytical-labs.com)

    http://mattlittle.files.wordpress.co...-bananaman.jpg

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bugg_tb View Post
    this is why no one should deploy standalone mondrian
    i know for a fact that its possible though. i wish the documentation was a little easier to follow for a person like me whos completely new to mondrian. could anyone please help elaborate what my next steps would be?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    233

    Default Lets clarify where you are up to

    Let me see if I understand this so far.

    You have a Mondrian instance deployed on a Tomcat 5.5 server, and can see the http://localhost:8080/mondrian page?

    If thats the case the next thing to do is to set up your data sources so you can connect to them and place the driver for your datasource into /WEBAPPS/Mondrian/Lib and your schema file somewhere in the Mondrian directory too.

    Are you up to the stage of doing these things? Have you designed a schema to use and tested it in (or preferably built it in) the schema designer / workbench? Do you have a Type4 jar for making a connection to your datasource?

    The Frog
    Everything should be made as simple as possible, but not simpler - Albert Einstein

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheFrog View Post
    Let me see if I understand this so far.

    You have a Mondrian instance deployed on a Tomcat 5.5 server, and can see the http://localhost:8080/mondrian page?

    If thats the case the next thing to do is to set up your data sources so you can connect to them and place the driver for your datasource into /WEBAPPS/Mondrian/Lib and your schema file somewhere in the Mondrian directory too.

    Are you up to the stage of doing these things?

    The Frog
    Yes I am right up at that point, however I have no idea where to start with the rest of the steps.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bugg_tb View Post
    this is why no one should deploy standalone mondrian


    From my limited experience, the key to successfully deploy mondrian standalone is to not use tomcat, especially if you are new to java. Just use winstone, set logging.properties to DEBUG, and you are good to go.

  16. #16

    Default

    Well this guy:
    http://forums.pentaho.org/member.php?u=37715

    Is a fool, and he runs standalone mondrian on tomcat, so it can't be that hard.

    Tom
    This is a signature.... everyone gets it.

    Join the Unofficial Pentaho IRC channel on freenode.
    Server: chat.freenode.net Channel: ##pentaho

    Please try and make an effort and search the wiki and forums before posting!
    Checkout the Saiku, the future of Open Source Interactive OLAP(http://analytical-labs.com)

    http://mattlittle.files.wordpress.co...-bananaman.jpg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.