Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: Setup Google maps

Default Setup Google maps

Dear Experts,

If i want to make google maps dashboard lik Steel Wheels samples, can i use report designer or what kind of program that i should use?.. because i no idea to make that kind of dashboard..

Hi!
    I'm not an expert but I can try to give some help.
    If you want to make a dashboard you need CDF installed in Pentaho.
    I can also recommend that you download and install CDF-DD which gives you great help in making dashboards.
    But there are no pre built components for a google map. I guess that's because you need a map license from google and you can only use the free map api if it's public.
    Also you need to feed the map with latitude and longitude.

But I suggest you create a new xaction for in Design Studio.
    If you follow the video from Michael Tarallo, http://michaeltarallo.blogspot.com/2...1_archive.html, it would be pretty easy.
    Once the Xaction-fil is complete you can use it within CDF (or standalone) by using the Xaction component.

I havn't tried it myself but I think it would work.

Br,
    Andreas

I don't think it as that simple. I am struggling with this -xaction is a piece of cake but the CDF is not easy. Does not want to display map.

Michael Tarrallo from Pentaho has suggested the following, but I still have not figured this out:

CDF renders the content using AJAX, so if you want to call the Google Maps .xaction object you may have to use an iframe property instead -- see this CDF code snippet here:

This is a call to an .xaction that renders a custom map component, using SVG, you can see it in the sample in one of my blog entries.
    myMap =
    {
    name: "myMap",
    type: "xaction",
    solution: "work_verticals",
    path: "Retail/Dashboard/svg",
    action: "usa_map_svg.xaction",
    // listeners:,
    htmlObject: "MapObject",
    // serviceMethod:"ViewAction",
    iframe:true,
    executeAtStart:true,