Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: generate report using .xaction file or .xml file in java

Default generate report using .xaction file or .xml file in java

Hi,
    i am new to Pentaho. Though i have generated reporting using Pentaho and by publishing it i got the .xaction file and .xml file which contains the connection details and the structure respectively.
    Now after creating Reports in Pentaho i need to generate it through java code using these two files ie .xaction file and .xml file.

Anyone plz help me out

If you're starting out with Pentaho Reporting, then please do not use ancient versions. If you use anything other than 3.5, you will have to put a lot of manual work into your project to make it run, and I can promise you the experience will be rather unhappy.

Use Pentaho Reporting 3.5 and you do not have to deal with XActions, XML file or anything like that. PRPT reports can be run directly in Java with few lines of code. (Grab the SDK with the greatly documented examples from our sourceforge site ( http://sourceforge.net/projects/jfreereport ) and if you want to go deeper, buy the book "Pentaho Reporting 3.5 for Java Developers" and you get everything you'll ever want to know about the project.
    Get the latest news and tips and tricks for Pentaho Reporting at the Pentaho Reporting Blog.

Default Need help on generating Report for Pentaho reporting V 2.0.0

Quote Originally Posted by Taqua View Post
    If you're starting out with Pentaho Reporting, then please do not use ancient versions. If you use anything other than 3.5, you will have to put a lot of manual work into your project to make it run, and I can promise you the experience will be rather unhappy.