Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Dashboard Editor - ExecuteXactions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default Dashboard Editor - ExecuteXactions

    Hi!

    I've created a xaction that opens a prpt report. It works fine when i open directly from the browser!
    But when i try to use it in a dashboard (ExecuteXaction component) it doesn't appear.

    Do i have to add a button or something to fire the xaction?


    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,497

    Default

    The executeXaction component is tied to a button or link, indeed. (makes little sense compared to the others, but it's how it works)

    Check the sample in the component reference
    Pedro Alves
    Meet us on ##pentaho, a FreeNode irc channel

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    16

    Default

    Thanks for the reply pedro!

    I've created a html button in the layout, attatched to a row, but it doesn't appear as a htmlObject, so i cannot link it to the executeXaction component. How can i do this?

    Thks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,497

    Default

    Oh, on the dashboard editor, I was thinking of plain cdf. You need to use the postExecution to do that.

    Something like function(){ render_MYEXECXACTIONNAME.htmlObject = "id_of_the_button" }


    We need to solve that bug
    Pedro Alves
    Meet us on ##pentaho, a FreeNode irc channel

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Hi pmalves,

    can you help me with the executeXaction component w/ cdf?..

    when i try to run the executeXaction (w/ a button) in 3 browsers just to check (ie, ff, & chrome), i don't seem to get anything at all, not even a pop-up window..

    Can you help me with this?

    thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Never mind...

    thanks for the moral support though!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Hello ,

    I tried to use the executeXaction component in the dashboard editor(CDF DE) by tying a button but it is not triggering the executeXaction.

    I've created html button in the layout under Column- Panel_1.
    Under property-Value section I have given "sample" as Name property to the html and added "<button id="sampleObject>ExecuteXaction<</button> as code
    for the html property.
    in the Components section, Added the executeXaction component and in the post execution function addedthe following javascript
    function() { render_executeTopTenCustomers.htmlObject="sampleObject"; } ,
    I am able to see the Button but when I click no firing action is taking place to trigger the executeXaction(Pop -Up) .
    It executes well in plain CDF but not in dash board editor.

    Any ideas what may be going on?

    Thanks in advance.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,497

    Default

    CDE renders cdf code. Look at the source of what's rendered and see if you can spot it
    Pedro Alves
    Meet us on ##pentaho, a FreeNode irc channel

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    hello Pedro,
    Thank you for the response.

    This is the snippet from exeXactTest.cdfde, source code generated by DE. I could not find anything wrong in here. Also attached.

    {
    "name":"html",
    "description":"HTML",
    "tooltip":"Html code to be added",
    "type":"Html",
    "value":"<button id=\"sampleObject\">ExecuteXaction</button> ",
    "order":15
    },
    {
    "name":"postExecution",
    "description":"Post Execution",
    "tooltip":"Function to be executed after the component is updated",
    "type":"JavaScript",
    "value":"function(){render_executeTopTenCustomers.htmlObject=\"sampleObject\";} ",
    "order":93
    },
    Thanks in advance
    Attached Files Attached Files

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,497

    Default

    "value":"function(){render_executeTopTenCustomers. htmlObject=\"sampleObject\";} ", <- seems to be an extra space before htmlObject

    But I wasn't talking about what gets saved in the .cdfde, I meant what's generated when you access the dashboard and do a view source
    Pedro Alves
    Meet us on ##pentaho, a FreeNode irc channel

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Privacy Policy | Legal Notices | Safe Harbor Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2005 - 2019 Hitachi Vantara Corporation. All Rights Reserved.