Hitachi Vantara Pentaho Community Forums

Thread: New Dashboard Project

Default New Dashboard Project

Hi there, I am new to the Pentaho community and was hoping someone could push me in the right direction for a project I will be working on.

I wish to create a BI/Dashboard add-on to an accounting system in my country Australia. It will be an external application that will run along side the system. I have direct access to the SQL database which I am quite comfortable with.

My questions are:

What do I need to download to begin this project? From what I have read, the BI Server and Report Designer is what I need.

How much will it cost me if I wish to build this solution and deploy it to my clients as a third party product?

How does the licensing work? Can I charge my clients an upfront fee for the add on or does it have to be on a subscription basis?

From what I envisage, I would have to install a server component on the server where the database is being hosted and the end users can access the dashboards via a web browser?

If I have left anything out, please let me know.. As I said, I am in VERY early days of scoping this project so any help will be GREATLY appreciated.

Kind Regard,

Todd.

Todd

I can try to kick the ball in motion.

- You will need the BI server as a platform to run your solutions elements.
    - In Pentaho, these "solution elements" are called xactions, and you will need the Pentaho Studio to create them (or do them by hand).
    - You will need the Report writer to create reports (or do them by hand).
    - If you are doing lots of transformation and loading of data, the Data Integration tool (PDI) will come handy.
    - If you are creating analysis solutions, then you might need the Aggregate Designer and/or Workbench editor.
    - You will need the Dashboard framework and Editor (optional).